AeroTech Congress & Exhibition

September 26-28, 2017

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Ft Worth Convention Center

2017 Awards Presentation

Cliff Garrett Turbomachinery Engineering Award
Keith Miazgowicz, ICE/Turbocharger Technical Specialist, Ford Motor Co.

Charles M. Manly Memorial Medal
Travis Michalak, AFRL/RQQM, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

Marvin Whitlock Award
Bob Ireland, MD Engineering/Maintenance, Airlines for America

Franklin Kolk Award
Alan Fletcher, Principal Materials Engineer, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

Steven M. Atkins Ability and Achievement in Science, Engineering, and Technology (AASET) Award
Ryan Gibson, Lavatory Senior Design Engineer, Boeing

Thomas H. Speller Award
Herb Cupp, Mechanical Engineering Tech, Electroimpact

William Littlewood Memorial Lecture
Gareth Williams, Ph.D., Vice President, Research & Technology–Business Development, Airbus SAS

Wright Brothers Medal
Tadas P. Bartkus, Senior Researcher, Ohio Aerospace Institute
Peter Struk, Engineer, NASA John Glenn Research Center
Jen-Ching Tsao, Principal Scientist, Ohio Aerospace Institute

Forest R. McFarland Award
This award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board (EMB) in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information. Established in 1979, this award is administered by the EMB and honors the late Forest R. McFarland who was himself an outstanding session organizer, a chairman of the Passenger Car Activity and a member of the EMB. Funding for this award is through a bequest by McFarland to SAE and consists of a framed certificate presented at the SAE World Congress.

2017 award recipients:

Reece Clothier, Ph.D.
Reece Clothier, Ph.D. Reece Clothier is President of the Australian Association for Unmanned Systems, a Principal Researcher at Boeing Research & Technology–Australia, and an Honorary Associate Professor at the School of Engineering at RMIT University. His primary areas of research are in complex system safety, autonomy, and the design, certification, and operation of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS). Clothier has helped to establish, and has actively led, national initiatives for the establishment of safety regulations for UAS. In 2014, Reece served as Industry Co-chair of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority, Standards Consultative Committee, Sub-Committee for Unmanned Systems. Prior to this he chaired the Australian Aerospace Industry Forum UAS Working Group. Clothier has a bachelor’s degree in engineering (aerospace avionics) and Ph.D. on the safe design and certification UAS from Queensland University of Technology.

Archie Crowe
Archie Crowe was employed by General Dynamics in 1968 in the Nondestructive Testing Department as a Metallurgy Inspector. He certified as a Level II Inspector in the areas of Penetrant Inspection, Magnetic Particle, X-ray and Eddy Current on the F-111 Program. In 1974, he was promoted to a Manufacturing Technology Specialist Engineer on the F-16 Program. Crowe was instrumental in developing the three-position head machine with the center position designed for sealant application in each drill and riveted hole. He was also instrumental in the design, building, and testing of the automated domenut riveter and the automated grommet machine. He helped organize the Aerospace Automated Fastener Conference and served as its second-chair in 1985-86. Crowe worked on two other major programs for Lockheed Martin, the F-22 and F-35. He retired from Lockheed Martin in 2006.

Branko Sarh
Branko Sarh Branko Sarh is a Boeing Senior Tech Fellow and the company's leader in Automation Manufacturing & Assembly Systems, creating vision and supporting/guiding development of innovative autonomous robotic fabrication and assembly factories enterprise wide. His more than 47 years of technical and international manufacturing experience includes a broad scope of research, engineering, and project management assignments for leading aerospace companies including MBB, Airbus, Rohr, McDonnell Douglas and Boeing. Sarh authored and published more than 100 documents with focus on aircraft design and manufacturing, production systems, machinery, fabrication and assembly processes, aircraft structural concepts, robotics and flying cars. His research activities resulted in more than 70 inventions and patents. He received a master's degree in aeronautical engineering from the University of Aachen, Germany, and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Hamburg.

Paul Thompson
Paul Thompson works as a Mechanical Engineering Lead and Project Manager for Electroimpact’s Flex Track Drilling systems. He has developed and implemented more than 120 systems worldwide. He previously worked at Advanced Integration Technologies developing its first five-axis NCDJ for the F/A-18 enhanced forward fuselage assembly at Boeing. He has also worked at Electroimpact Inc. as a Project Engineer in Tool Design, managing one of Electroimpact’s first tooling integration installations for the A320 Single Aisle aircraft upper wing panels, and at Reynolds Corp. as a design engineer. Thompson has authored/co-authored four papers for the SAE Aerofast Conference, served as session chair seven times, and acted as Conference Chair for the conference the past two times it was held in Seattle. He received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Montana State University.

Dan Day
Dan Day Dan Day, an Associate Technical Fellow, started his career with Boeing in 1990. His experience has encompassed both aluminum and composite structures primarily working wing technology but also includes advanced assembly techniques in the fuselage. Among other research and development projects, Day has been leader for innovative fabrication technology development on the 787 as well as assembly automation development for the 777X. He is currently a senior manufacturing engineer for wing product development at Boeing. Day has been a continual force for the active and continuing support of SAE AeroTech, Aerofast, and other SAE activities within and outside Boeing. He has served as organizer, presenter, and chair for the Manufacturing/Materials/Structures–Advanced Robotic Applications sessions. Day received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Montana State University.


Platinum Sponsors

  • Boeing Logo
  • Lockheed Martin

Gold Sponsors

  • Mentor Logo

Silver Sponsors

  • Arconic Logo
  • Ascent Aerospace Logo
  • Mapal Logo

Conference Supporters

  • Bombardier logo