AeroTech Congress & Exhibition

September 26-28, 2017

Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Ft Worth Convention Center

Littlewood & Garrett Awards Lectures & Luncheon

Wednesday, September 27, 2017
11:30 am - 1:30 pm

Dr. Gareth Malcolm Williams William Littlewood Memorial Lecture
Honoring the memory of William Littlewood, the only person ever to be president of both SAE International (1954) and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the William Littlewood Memorial Lecture pertains to a broad phase of civil air transportation considered of current interest and major importance. The objective is to advance air transport engineering and to recognize those who make personal contributions to the field.

2017 award winner:

Gareth Malcolm Williams, Ph.D.
Airbus SAS

Gareth Williams, Ph.D., is Vice President, Research & Technology–Business Development with Airbus SAS. His job functions include Engineering, Program Management, Industrial, and Research & Technology. Additionally, he is a visiting professor at Cranfield University. Prior to his current position, Williams was Head of Performance & Improvement; A380 West Factory Launch Controller; and Engineering & Strategy Manager-Long Range, with Airbus UK Ltd. Before joining Airbus, Williams held various management positions with British Aerospace Airbus Ltd., Cranfield University, and Aerostructures Hamble Ltd. He earned a bachelor’s degree from Loughborough University of Technology and a doctorate from Cranfield University. He serves on the Aerospace Technology Institute board, the Clean Sky Joint Undertaking board, and the ACARE Strategy Integration board. He is a member of the RAE Standing Committee on International Relations.

Cliff Garrett Turbomachinery Engineering Award
This award recognizes engineering developments and the presentation of SAE papers on turbomachinery and/or developments that enable or advance the use of turbomachinery. The award honors Cliff Garrett and the inspiration he provided to engineers by his example, support, encouragement, and many contributions as an aerospace pioneer. The award is made possible by a contribution from the Garrett Corporation (now a division of Honeywell).

2017 award winner:

Keith Miazgowicz Keith Miazgowicz
ICE/Turbocharger Technical Specialist
Ford Motor Co.

Keith Miazgowicz’s current research at Ford is focused on the creation of acoustic compressor maps. He joined Ford in 1992 and became the Engine Performance and Turbocharger CAE Technical Expert with the development of the EcoBoost brand at Ford Motor Co. Miazgowicz teaches several internal courses on engine design, development, and turbocharger matching. He has also guest lectured at the University of Michigan and Michigan State University on optimization and turbocharger engine matching. He has received numerous Technical Excellence Awards at Ford, including the prestigious Henry Ford Technology Award in 2015 for turbocharger advancements. Prior to joining Ford, he designed the turbines and exhaust nozzles for various turbomachinery engines at Williams International and McDonnell Douglas, where he worked in turbomachinery engine performance. Miazgowicz has published over a dozen SAE papers and journal articles, has nine U.S. patents, and several patent pending applications. His ongoing service to SAE includes working on the Engine Test and Power Standards Committee for boosted engine updates. Miazgowicz received a bachelor’s degree in aerospace engineering from the University of Michigan.

Awards Luncheon

Wednesday, September 27
12:30 p.m. (following the Garrett and Littlewood Lectures)

Fort Worth Convention Center
Grand Ballroom A/B


The following will be presented during the luncheon:
  • Charles M. Manly Memorial Medal-Travis Michalak, AFRL/RQQM, US Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Forest R. McFarland Award
    • Dr Reece Clothier, President, Australian Association for Unmanned Systems
    • Archie Crowe, Retired, Lockheed Martin
    • Dr. Branko Sarh, Senior Technical Fellow, Boeing Company
    • Paul Thompson, Mechanical Engineering Lead and Project Manager Electroimpact’s Flex Track Drilling Systems
    • Ing Dan Day, Associate Technical Fellow, Boeing Company
  • Franklin W. Kolk Air Transportation Progress Award-Alan Fletcher, Principal Materials Engineer, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Thomas H. Speller Award-Herbert Cupp, Mechanical Engineering Tech, Electroimpact


Platinum Sponsors

  • Boeing Logo
  • Lockheed Martin

Gold Sponsors

  • Mentor Logo

Silver Sponsors

  • Arconic Logo
  • Ascent Aerospace Logo
  • Mapal Logo

Conference Supporters

  • Bombardier logo