SAE Brake Colloquium & Exhibition - 32nd Annual

October 5-8, 2014

Burlingame(San Francisco), California, USA

Hyatt Regency S. F. Airport

Awards Ceremony

October 6, 2014
Announced during the Opening Keynote

Celebrate the "Best of" the 2013 Brake Colloquium & Exhibition during the awards ceremony. Recipients will be announced Monday morning during the Opening Keynote. Take a look at the award descriptions as well as current and past recipients.

Best New Presenter Award
Sponsored by KB AutoSys

This award is given to the best new presenter from the SAE 2013 Brake Colloquium & Exhibition. To be considered, the recipient should have presented less than three presentations at the SAE Brake Colloquium.

Craig Stumpf Recipient: Craig Stumpf

Past Recipients:
2013 Sylwia Horning
2012 Brian Anderson
2011 Kai Bode

Best Paper Award Sponsored by MOBIS

This award is given to the best paper from the SAE 2013 Brake Colloquium & Exhibition.

Characterization of Caliper Piston Material Stiffness and Damping (2013-01-2050)
David Antanaitis, Mark Riefe, General Motors
Chris Ciechoski, Durez
Thomas Flaim, Complex Systems
C. Greening, Greening Associates

David Antanaitis Past Recipients:
2013 David Antanaitis

Best Speaker Award Sponsored by TMD Friction

This award recognizes the Best Presentation given during the SAE 2013 Brake Colloquium & Exhibition.

Kurt Person Recipient:
Sportbike Brake System Design Factors
Kurt Person

Past Recipients:
2013 Peter Hagedorn and Georg Ostermeyer
2012 Kai Bode and Jarek Grochowicz
2011 Georg Ostermeyer
2010 Georg Ostermeyer
2009 Juergen Lange

Dan Mahannah Award

Dan Mahannah began his career in the Brake and Friction Material Industry in the early 1960s. He worked for General Motors for over 30 years, both in Dayton, Ohio and at the General Motors Proving Grounds in Phoenix, Arizona. He was mentored by one of the true legends of the industry, Burlin Brumbaugh. Upon his retirement, he became the driving force in the establishment of Link-West in Phoenix. In January 1995, Dan was lost due to medical complications.

Dan embodied the spirit of enlightened professionalism throughout his career that may act as a symbol of our industry. Everyone that worked for him, with him and came in contact with him, gained from his enthusiasm and his contagious love for this industry. He truly understood the most critical aspect of brake design and brake performances. He encouraged the utilization of the latest technology to address these issues. Most importantly, he was able to convey these disciplines for the betterment of others and the Brake and Friction Industry. He was a presenter in the first Brake Colloquium. This award is a memorial to Dan Mahannah. The Dan Mahannah Achievement Award is presented each to a distinguished Member of our industry. It recognizes an individual who makes unselfish contributions toward the betterment of the industry and its members; through technological advancements, educational or promotional endeavors.

Recipient will be announced on-site. Nominations should be submitted to Melissa Jena and Roy Link

Past Recipients:
2013 John Fieldhouse
2012 Peter Filip
2011 Bill VanderRoest
2010 Stanley Stokes
2009 Hidetoshi Shimizu
2007 Steve Brown
2006 Bruce Palmer
2005 Paul S. Gritt
2004 James W. Lawrence
2003 Yosuke Sasaki
2002 James Trainor
2001 Harald Abendroth
2000 Roy H. Link
1999 Arne Anderson
1998 Seong Rhee
1997 Phil Dougherty
1996 Marvin H. Weintraub