SAE Brake Colloquium & Exhibition - 33rd Annual

October 4-7, 2015

Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Charleston Area Convention Center

Awards Ceremony

Best New Presenter Award
Sponsored by KB AutoSys
KB Autosys

This award is given to the best new presenter from the SAE 2014 Brake Colloquium. To be considered, the recipient should have presented less than three presentations at the SAE Brake Colloquium.

Ralf Goller Recipient:
Ralf Goller

Past Recipients:
2014 Craig Stumpf
2013 Sylwia Horning
2012 Brian Anderson
2011 Kai Bode

Best Paper Award
Sponsored by MOBIS

This award is given to the best paper from the SAE 2014 Brake Colloquium.

Influence of Test Procedure on Friction Behavior and Its Repeatability in Dynamometer Brake Testing (2014-01-2521)

Past Recipients:
2013 David Antanaitis, Mark Riefe, Chris Ciechoski, Thomas Flaim, C. Greening

Best Speaker Award
Sponsored by TMD Friction
TMD Friction

This award recognizes the Best Presentation given during the SAE 2014 Brake Colloquium & Exhibition.

Lars Wilkening Recipient:
Investigations on Tribological Memory Effects in Friction Materials Lars Wilkening

Past Recipients:
2014 Kurt Person
2013 Peter Hagedorn and Georg Ostermeyer
2012 Kai Bode and Jarek Grochowicz
2011 Georg Ostermeyer
2010 Georg Ostermeyer
2009 Juergen Lange

Dan Mahannah Award

Dan Mahannah began his career in the Brake and Friction Material Industry in the early 1960's. He worked for General Motors for over 30 years, both in Dayton, Ohio and at the General Motors Proving Grounds in Phoenix, Arizona. He was mentored by one of the true legends of the industry, Burlin Brumbaugh. Upon his retirement, he became the driving force in the establishment of Link-West in Phoenix. In January 1995, Dan was lost due to medical complications.

Dan embodied the spirit of enlightened professionalism throughout his career that may act as a symbol of our industry. Everyone that worked for him, with him and came in contact with him, gained from his enthusiasm and his contagious love for this industry. He truly understood the most critical aspect of brake design and brake performances. He encouraged the utilization of the latest technology to address these issues. Most importantly, he was able to convey these disciplines for the betterment of others and the Brake and Friction Industry. He was a presenter in the first Brake Colloquium. This award is a memorial to Dan Mahannah. The Dan Mahannah Achievement Award is presented each to a distinguished Member of our industry. It recognizes an individual who makes unselfish contributions toward the betterment of the industry and its members; through technological advancements, educational or promotional endeavors.

Recipient will be announced on-site. Nominations should be submitted to Melissa Jena and Roy Link

Past Recipients:
2014 Tim Duncan
2013 John Fieldhouse
2012 Peter Filip
2011 Bill VanderRoest
2010 Stanley Stokes
2009 Hidetoshi Shimizu
2007 Steve Brown
2006 Bruce Palmer
2005 Paul S. Gritt
2004 James W. Lawrence
2003 Yosuke Sasaki
2002 James Trainor
2001 Harald Abendroth
2000 Roy H. Link
1999 Arne Anderson
1998 Seong Rhee
1997 Phil Dougherty
1996 Marvin H. Weintraub