Awards Presented at the Brake Colloquium

Allan M. Lang Award

This award recognizes the "Best Presentation" given during the SAE Annual Break Colloquium & Exhibition events. This is a memorial to Allan Michael Lang. Mr. Lang was killed in an avalanche while hiking in Scotland. He was Research Manager at Mintex Don, Ltd., a BBA Group Company. His Ph.D. was in Mechanical Engineering from Loughborough University in England and his thesis was entitled "An Investigation into Heavy Vehicle Drum Breaks Squeal.

Georg-Peter Ostermeyer 2010 Recipient:
Georg-Peter Ostermeyer
Professor Ostermeyer has been a professor of dynamics and vibration and head of Institute of Dynamics and Vibration (IDS), TU-BS. Prior to this position, he was chief engineer at Volkswagen, AG. His specific research technologies include brake technologies and Self Organization and Self Synchronization in Complex Dynamic Systems

Past Recipients:
2009 Georg-Peter Ostermeyer
2008 Jurgen Lange
2007 Carlos Agudelo
2006 Ken Fegely & Steve Weber
2005 Torsten Treyde
2004 Kwangjin Lee
2001 Robert Ballinger
2000 Michael Wladen
1999 Flavio Marcon
1998 Xinming Shao

Sponsored by TMD Friction

SAE Brake Colloquium Show Support Award

Show your support and reap the rewards!

SAE International thanks you for your past support of the SAE Annual Brake Colloquium & Exhibition and we are pleased to continue to offer a unique SAE Customer Recognition program. The SAE Brake Show Support Award recognizes and rewards organizations that are major contributors to the overall success of this event through their participation on all levels.

Award Criteria—how does my company qualify?
Qualifying is simpleā€¦just participate in the SAE Brake Colloquium & Exhibition. Winning organizations must be an Exhibitor and/or Sponsor in the current award year. You get bonus points when you do both!

But, it doesn't end there. Your organization will also receive credit for contributing technical papers/presentations, supporting special activities such as keynote speakers, golf or tours, and providing organizers and committee members that volunteer their time. In addition to your company's participation during the current award year (for which you receive double points), we will also consider participation in previous years. While a company cannot win the award in two consecutive years, their participation during the next event does count toward future award qualification.

Watch for the SAE Brake Show Support Award during the event. Then, get out there, continue to show your support of this exclusive brake/friction industry event and reap the rewards!

Past Recipients:
2010 Material Sciences Corporation
2009 Akebono
2007 NUCAP
2006 Link Engineering
2005 Capitol Tool
2004 TRW Automotive

Best Exhibit
The SAE Brake Colloquium Executive Committee will be judging all exhibit booths on the following criteria:

  • Best use of technology
  • Interactive with customer
  • Best use of space
  • Most creative display
  • Overall appearance

Past Recipients:
2010 NUCAP
2009 Mobis
2008 The Modal Shop

Chairman's Best New Presenter Award

This award will be given to the best new presenter. To be considered, the recipient should have presented less than three presentations at the SAE Brake Colloquium.

Kai Bode 2010 Recipient:
Kai Bode
Kai Bode is part of the tribology research group around Prof. Dr. Ostermeyer at the Institute of Dynamics and Vibrations, Braunschweig, Germany. He focuses on tribological testing, as well as innovative simulation techniques, and is responsible for the institute's co-operations with the brake industry. Currently, he is doing his doctor's degree in the field of brake friction and friction modeling. He received a Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from the TU Braunschweig in 2007.

Sponsored by KB Autosys

Dan Mahannah Award

This award is a memorial to Dan Mahannah. The Dan Mahannah Achievement Award is presented to a distinguished Member of our industry. It recognizes an individual who makes unselfish contributions toward the betterment of the industry and its members; through technological advancements, educational or promotional endeavors.

Past Recipients:
2010 Stanley Stokes
2009 Hidetoshi Shimizu
2007 Steve Brown
2006 Bruce Palmer
2005 Paul S. Gritt
2004 James W. Lawrence
2003 Yosuke Sasaki
2002 James Trainor
2001 Harald Abendroth
2000 Roy H. Link
1999 Arne Anderson
1998 Seong Rhee
1997 Phil Dougherty
1996 Marvin H. Weintraub

Nominations maybe submitted to Roy Link.