Larry McReynolds Larry McReynolds

One of NASCAR's most successful and recognized crew chiefs is Larry McReynolds.

Larry's NASCAR career began in 1975. He worked his way up the ladder and took his first crew chief job in 1985. His first win as a crew chief was in 1988 at Watkins Glen with Ricky Rudd as the driver.

The combination in 1991 of Larry, Robert Yates and driver Davey Allison was pure magic! Together they brought home 11 wins and 3 pole positions.

They won The Winston All-Star race back-to-back in 1991 & 1992. As crew chief, Larry won his first Daytona 500 in 1992 with Davey behind the wheel of the famous #28 Texaco Ford.

When teamed with driver Ernie Irvan in 1993, the two combined for 5 pole positions.

After joining Richard Childress Racing in 1997, Larry helped NASCAR legend Dale Earnhardt earn the one missing jewel of his champion's crown - the 1998 Daytona 500!

Larry McReynolds has enjoyed 23 victories, 21 pole positions, 122 Top 5 finishes and 209 Top 10 finishes in 457 starts!

McReynolds-led teams have finished in the Top 10 in the Winston Cup point standings six times and finished in the Top 5 three of those times.

At the end of the 2000 NASCAR season, Larry made the hard decision to leave the Richard Childress owned #31 Lowe's Chevrolet and ventured into the Fox Sports broadcast booth with Mike Joy and three time Winston Cup champion Darrell Waltrip.

Today, eleven years later, Larry finds great joy as Race Analyst for the NASCAR Sprint Cup races with FOX Sports during the first half of the race season and Turner Sports during the middle six races. His great talent has lead to more opportunities behind the mic with Speed where he commentates weekly broadcasts of Cup and Nationwide Practice Sessions and Qualifying, as well as the NASCAR Race Hub Show and NASCAR Performance.

In 2011, Larry will be in his seventh year at MRN Radio, with co-host Steve Post, to bring the "NASCAR Performance Show" to the air on Wednesday evenings at 7:00pm EST.

And so Larry continues another chapter in his storied career

  • 23 NASCAR Winston Cup wins as Crew Chief
  • 21 NASCAR Winston Cup Pole Positions as Crew Chief
  • 2 Daytona 500 wins as Crew Chief (1992 & 1998)
  • 2 consecutive wins in NASCAR All Star race - The Winston (1991, 1992)
  • 1998 UAW GM Teamwork Award of Excellence
  • Named Copenhagen/Skoal All Pro Crew Chief for five consecutive years (1991- 1995)
  • Founding Member of the Crew Chief Club
  • 2008 Inducted into the Oceanside Rotary Club Stock Car Hall of Fame
  • 2009 Received the Living Legends of Auto Racing Russ Moyer Media Award

More information on Larry and his career is available on the website at