2016 DOD Maintenance Symposium

December 5-8, 2016

Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Albuquerque Convention Center

Maintenance Innovation Challenge

Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Maintenance Issues a Challenge

An evaluation board comprised of maintenance subject matter experts will select six candidates to participate in the challenge during the 2016 DOD Maintenance Symposium, December 5-8, 2016.

As an added feature, the audience will have the opportunity to select the 2016 Maintenance Innovation Challenge People's Choice award from the six finalists presenting.

2016 Maintenance Innovation Challenge Finalists:

Automated Large Standoff, Large Area Thermography Inspection System
Clint Salter, Department of the Navy SSC Cherry Point and Steven M. Shepard, Thermal Wave Imaging, Inc.

Condition Based Maintenance Plus to Enable Data Driven Fleet Management
Jason Duncan, Tank and Automotive Command and Craig Hershey, Army Materiel Systems Analysis Activity

DoD Depot Fielding of Cold Spray Technology
Alex Stonecipher, 429th Supply Chain Management Squadron (GUMB)

Embedded Wireless Corrosion Detection
Jeffrey Banks, Applied Research Lab, Pennsylvania State University

Expeditionary Fluid Analysis Capability
Mike Ryan, Headquarters Marine Corps, Installations & Logistics, LPC-1

X-Ray Reverse Engineering
Laura Watson, Naval Undersea Warfare Center, Division Keyport

Previous Great Ideas and Maintenance Innovation Challenge Winners Include:
  • 2015: USCG Aviation Bonded Material Inspection System - Rusty G. Waldrop, US Coast Guard
  • 2014: Laser Technology for Aerospace Maintenance and Sustainment Applications - Deb Naguy, United States Air Force
  • 2012: IFDIS - Expanding Role within the DoD Maintenance Enterprise - Ken Anderson, Universal Synaptics Corp.
  • 2011: Modernization of Metal Electroplating with No-Mask Conforming Anodes - George Cushnie, Advanced Tooling Corporation
  • 2010: Intermittent Fault Detection & Isolation System (IFDIS) Ken Anderson, Universal Synaptics Corp
  • 2009: Bolt Securing System - Ms. Julie Pereyra, NORD-LOCK Inc.
  • 2008: 3FAST (Fast, Field Fluid Assessment Support Tools) - Commander Dave Scalf, JOAP