SAE 2013 Fuels, Lubricants, and Aftertreatment Symposium: Achieving Fuel Economy and GHG Targets

November 18-21, 2013

Long Beach, California, USA

Hyatt Regency Long Beach

Executive Panel Discussion - Join the discussion!

SAE International is pleased to present the following Executive Panel Discussion on the opening day of the SAE 2013 Fuels, Lubricants, and Aftertreatment Symposium:

Monday, November 18
4:00 - 5:30pm

Where do you see the industry going with respect to GHG emissions and fuel economy?


Robert Shama Robert Shama

President - Afton Chemical Corp.

Mr. Rob Shama, President of Afton Chemical Corporation, has over 32 years of chemical industry experience, including 22 years with the company. He ran Afton's North American business from 2001 to July 2012. In 2010 Rob was promoted to the position of Chief Marketing Officer and Senior Vice President, North America where he led Afton's global marketing initiatives while running the North American region. Rob has had extensive experience in sales, marketing, manufacturing and product innovation. Before starting at Afton, Rob worked for two other major chemical companies, ICI and Nalco.

Rob is a native of Canada and has lived in the USA for the past 16 years. He graduated in 1983 with a degree in Mining Engineering from Queens University in Kingston, Ontario. Rob is married with three teenage children.

Afton Chemical Corporation is a wholly owned subsidiary of NewMarket Corporation (NYSE: NEU).

Ann Oglesby Ann Oglesby
Worldwide VP Communications and Public Affairs - Phillips 66

Ann M. Oglesby is vice president, Communications and Public Affairs for Phillips 66. She has 25 years of experience in the oil and natural gas industry. Before assuming her current role, Oglesby was vice president, Communications & Public Affairs for ConocoPhillips. In her tenure with ConocoPhillips, she was general manager, Corporate Planning and Strategy from 2009-2010; manager, Climate Change and Sustainable Development, from 2007-2009; president, Specialty Products, from 2004-2007; and manager, Emerging Technology, from 2001-2004.

Oglesby began her oil industry career in 1987 with Mobil Corporation where she served in various engineering, supply, business development and planning positions. Originally from Fort Smith, Ark., Oglesby earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering from Oklahoma State University in 1987

Shinji Morhiro Shinji Morhiro

"Cooperative Development of Automatic Transmission and Lubricants for Fuel Economy"

Shinji Morihiro is the vice president of JATCO, Ltd. He began his career in 1982 as a test engineer for powertrain development at Nissan Motor Company. In 1990, he became a senior engineer with Nissan European Technology Center in Brussels and was transferred to JATCO in 1998. In 2003, he began the development of competitive automatic transmissions and developed a new 5 and 7 speed transmission. In 2008, he became the general manager of sales handling the overseas business. Since 2010, he has been the corporate vice president and is responsible for product planning, sales, and marketing. Shinji has established a method to evaluate automatic transmission for European market and reconfirmed the importance of competitiveness when planning new products.

Dr. Wayne Eckerle Dr. Wayne Eckerle
Vice President of Corporate Research and Technology - Cummins

Wayne received a BS (1975) and MS (1976) in Aeronautical Engineering from Purdue University and a PhD in Fluid Mechanics from the University of Connecticut in 1985. Prior to joining Cummins, Wayne worked at UTRC for 10 years on a variety of internal flow projects including chemical laser systems, scramjets, and gas turbine combustion. Wayne was also an Associate Professor at Clarkson University teaching classes in Thermal Sciences and performing research in turbulent separated flows, two-phase flow heat transfer, and supersonic combustion. Since joining Cummins in 1989 Wayne has held leadership positions in Metrology, Quality, Fuel Systems Technology, Thermal and Fluid Sciences, and Advanced Engineering. In his present position, Wayne is responsible for developing and integrating technology for Cummins' next generation of products. Wayne received the Cummins J. Irwin Miller Award of Excellence in 2005, an Honorary Doctorate from Purdue University in 2009, Cummins Julius Perr Innovation Award in 2009, and became an SAE Fellow in 2011.