SAE 2014 Government/Industry Meeting

January 22-24, 2014

Washington, D.C., USA

Walter E. Washington Convention Center

2014 Government/Industry General Committee

Stephen Ridella General Chair:

Stephen Ridella is Director of the Office of Vehicle Crashworthiness Research at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. His office coordinates research projects areas such as vehicle crash performance, impact biomechanics, restraint system performance, and crash dummy development in support of agency rulemaking efforts. He joined NHTSA in March 2006 as Division Chief, Human Injury Research after spending over 20 years working in the automotive safety field in the Detroit area. Stephen began his career at the General Motors Research Labs doing crash injury research before moving onto a project management position at EASi Engineering coordinating occupant simulation and safety consulting. He then joined TRW Automotive and held a variety of engineering and managerial positions in biomechanics analysis and restraint systems design and performance. He has published extensively on crash data analysis, vehicle and occupant crash simulation techniques, and impact injury research throughout his career. Stephen holds a bachelor's and master's degree in Microbiology and Bioengineering respectively from the University of Michigan. He also holds a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Wayne State University in Detroit and is currently working on his doctorate in collaboration with researchers in the Department of Applied Mechanics at Chalmers Technological University in Sweden.

Special Sessions Chair: Adrian Lund, IIHS

Technical Program Chairs:
Government: Steve Summers, NHTSA
Government: Karl Simon, US EPA
Industry: Stephane Thiriez, Mitsubishi

Technical Sector Chairs:
Environment & Energy:
Government: Arman Tanman, US EPA
Government: Ken Howden, U.S. DOE
Industry: Bill Craven, Daimler

Government: Peter Martin, NHTSA
Industry: Will Otero, Alliance & Paul Scullion, Global Automakers

Finance Chair: Mike Cammisa, Global Automakers

Promotion Chair: Jim Alvis, Kia

SAE Washington, DC Section Chair: Schuyler St. Lawrence, Toyota


  • Dave Agnew, Continental
  • John Anderson, Kia
  • Raul Arbelaez, IIHS
  • Saeed Barbat, Ford
  • Doug Campbell, Automotice Safety Council (ASC)
  • William Chernicoff, Toyota
  • Michael Cuson, Volkswagen
  • Mark Downing, ORNL
  • John Eichberger, Natl Assoc Convenience Stores
  • Michael Finkelstein, Consultant
  • Steve Gehring, GM
  • Doug Greenhaus, NADA
  • Phil Headley
  • Reid Heffner, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Tom Hollowell, WTH Consulting, LLC
  • Ken Katz, NHTSA
  • Patrick Kelly, API
  • Kunik Lee, FHWA
  • Bill MacLeod, Hyundai
  • Tony Magdaleno, GM
  • Leigh Merino, MEMA
  • Jennifer Morrison, NTSB
  • George Reagle, Consultant
  • Randa Radwan Samaha, GWU
  • Julia Rege, Global Automakers
  • Dan Ryan, Mazda
  • Brian Routhier, US DOT
  • Allen Schaeffer, Diesel Technology Forum
  • Scott Schmidt, Alliance of Auto Mfrs.
  • Scott Sluder, ORNL
  • Hideki Suzuki, Honda
  • Dina Vizzaccaro, Delphi
  • Vince Williams, NHTSA
  • Bob Wimmer, Toyota
  • Kevin Wolford, AMECA
  • David Zuby, IIHS