SAE 2016 Government/Industry Meeting

January 20-22, 2016

Washington, D.C., USA

Walter E. Washington Convention Center

Awards and Recognitions Ceremony

Wednesday, January 20
Washington Convention Center, Room 202AB
9:00 a.m.

SAE Awards Recipients Recognized at SAE 2016 Government/Industry Meeting:

Ralph H. Isbrandt Automotive Safety Engineering Award

This award annually recognizes the author(s) delivering the most outstanding paper at a Society or section meeting on the subject of automotive safety engineering. It may recognize an individual for distinguished accomplishment in automotive safety engineering, in which case the individual shall be invited to present a Ralph H. Isbrandt Memorial Lecture on an appropriate subject at a designated meeting of the Society.


Jesse Schneider
Manager - Fuel Cell, EV, and Hydrogen Development

Steven Mathison
Principal Engineer
Honda R&D Americas, Inc.

Jihyun Shim
Research Engineer
Hyundai Motor Company

Michael Veenstra
Ford Motor Company

Graham Meadows
Project Manager, Alternative Fuels Certification and Validation
IMPCO Technologies

Peter Potzel
Rainer Immel
Adam Opel AG
GM Vehicle CAE

Morten Wistoft-Ibsen
Computer Aided Engineering
Lego System A/S

Spencer Quong
Chief Technical Officer
Quong & Associates,

Manfred Greisel
Simulation and Development
Wenger Engineering

Timothy McGuire
Project Manager
Mercedes-Benz Research and Development North America, Inc.

SAE/InterRegs Standards and Regulations Award

This award recognizes a practicing engineer who has provided significant contributions to standards, regulations or conformity assessment systems for improved safety or reduced emissions in a ground vehicle mobility product. The individual can work on the standards/regulation language and/or on product to comply with the standards/regulation.


James Green
Safety Engineer
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Franklin W. Kolk Air Transportation Progress Award

Established in 1978, this award recognizes an individual for unique and outstanding contributions to air transportation and/or to the work of the aerospace technical committees in developing aerospace standards, specifications, technical reports, and data through cooperative research.


Sandy Liu
Aerospace Engineer
Federal Aviation Administration

McFarland Award
Washington Convention Center, Room 145AB
12:30 p.m.

Established in 1979, this award honors the late Forest R. McFarland and recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board (EMB) in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information.


Dr. Peter G. Martin
Mechanical Engineer
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Award descriptions, nomination deadlines and past recipients.