SAE 2017 High Efficiency IC Engine Symposium

April 2-3, 2017

Detroit, Michigan, USA

Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

2017 Event Organizers

Terrence F. Alger Terrence F. Alger
Southwest Research Institute

Terrence Alger, Ph.D., joined Southwest Research Institute in 2003 and is currently the manager of the Advanced Combustion and Emissions section, concentrating on improving engine efficiency and emissions thorough in-cylinder combustion processes and advanced engine technologies. He is also the manager of SwRI's HEDGE II consortium, which is focused on improving gasoline engine efficiency through the use of cooled EGR, advanced ignition systems, and other efficiency enhancing technologies. Alger previously worked at Ford Motor Company's Research and Advanced Engineering Division, where he worked on Ford's optical engine and developed several new diagnostic capabilities, including PIV-based turbulence measurements, a Spontaneous Raman Scattering residual diagnostic, and a method for using a borescope to take flow field measurements. Alger earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, a master’s in business administration from the University of Texas at San Antonio, and a doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

Zoran Filipi Zoran Filipi
Timken Endowed Chair in Vehicle System Design
Clemson University

Zoran Filipi, Ph.D., is the Professor and Timken Endowed Chair in Vehicle System Design at the Clemson University International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR) since January 2012. He was with the University of Michigan between 1994 and 2011, where he rose to the rank of Research Professor, and served as Director of the Center for Engineering Excellence through Hybrid Technology and Deputy Director of the Automotive Research Center. Filipi received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Belgrade. His main research interests are advanced IC engine concepts, alternative fuels, alternative and hybrid powertrain systems, and energy for transportation. He published more than 140 papers in international journals, refereed conference proceedings, and holds three patents. Filipi is an SAE Fellow and the recipient of the SAE Forest R. McFarland Award (2009), the IMechE Donald Julius Groen Award (2010), IMechE Journal of Automobile Engineering Best Paper Award (2012), and the U-M Research Faculty Achievement Award (2010).

Bengt Johansson Bengt Johansson
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, KAUST

Bengt Johansson is Professor at Kind Abdullah University of Science and Technology, KAUST in Saudi Arabia. Previously, he was Professor in Internal Combustion Engines at Lund University since 2001 and head of the combustion engine group since 2004. He is also director of the Centre of Competence Combustion Processes with a number of international industry partners since 2003. He is Chairman of the Combustion and Fuels Committee at the Land and Sea group within SAE 2012-14. Since 2006, he has been Chair of the HCCI fuels collaborative task force within the Combustion Agreement at the International Energy Agency. He received the Harry L. Horning Memorial Award in 1999, the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award in 2000, and the Forest R. McFarland Award in 2005. He was promoted to SAE Fellow in 2005. He has more than 240 publications, with 3800 citations, and presented more than 40 invited talks and keynotes on high-efficiency and low-emission combustion concepts.

Robert Wagner Robert Wagner
Director of the Fuels Engines and Emissions Research Center
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Robert Wagner, Ph.D., is the Director of the Fuels, Engines, and Emissions Research Center at Oak Ridge National Laboratory; a faculty member of the Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; and a Fellow of SAE International. His responsibilities include the coordination and development of strategic internal and external collaborations at ORNL to better support the mission of the U.S. Department of Energy Vehicle Technologies Office. Wagner has been principal investigator on many research activities spanning low-temperature combustion, unstable combustion fundamentals, nonlinear controls, thermodynamics, renewable fuels, and emissions characterization. This includes the integration of ORNL expertise in high-performance computing, neutron sciences, material sciences, and advanced manufacturing to accelerate the development of advanced transportation technologies. Wagner is on the editorial board of four international journals and has authored more than 100 technical publications.



Gold Sponsors
  • Horiba

Silver Sponsors
  • Aramco

Bronze Sponsors
  • Andrson Consulting
  • Argonne National
  • AVL
  • Convergent Science
  • Mahle
  • TT Tech

Conference Supporters
  • Borgwarner

Event Quick Links