SAE 2015 Noise and Vibration Conference and Exhibition

June 22-25, 2015

Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

DeVos Place Convention Center

Scott D. Sommerfeldt

Scott D. Sommerfeldt Scott D. Sommerfeldt
Dept. of Physics & Astronomy
Brigham Young University

Scott D. Sommerfeldt holds the rank of Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy and is currently Dean of the College of Physical & Mathematical Sciences at Brigham Young University. He received his PhD in Acoustics from The Pennsylvania State University, in 1989. Prior to coming to BYU, Sommerfeldt held the joint positions of Research Associate in the Applied Research Laboratory and Assistant Professor of Acoustics at Penn State University, from 1989-1995. He has been a faculty member at BYU since 1995. Sommerfeldt is a fellow of the Acoustical Society of America, where he has served on the Executive Council and the Technical Council, and a member of the Institute of Noise Control Engineering (INCE), where he has served on the Board of Directors.

Sommerfeldt's areas of expertise are in acoustics and vibration, with primary research areas in active noise and vibration control and energy-based acoustic measurements. He has over 100 publications in these areas. He was also invited to give a plenary lecture on his work in active noise control at the Active 2006 International Symposium on Active Control of Sound and Vibration, as well as the ASME Rayleigh Lecture in 2009. Along with Kent L. Gee, he received the 2004 Martin Hirschorn Prize (recognizing the best paper published in Noise Control Engineering Journal over a two year period) for their paper published in the journal discussing global active noise control of small axial fan noise.

Over the past decade, Sommerfeldt has worked with colleagues and students on developing active noise control solutions to achieve global attenuation for applications such as fan noise and interior cab noise in vehicles. Six patents have been granted related to these technologies. In 2007, he received the Technology Transfer Award from Brigham Young University in recognition of these efforts, and in 2011 he received the Sponsored Research Recognition Award, also from Brigham Young University.