SAE/KSAE 2013 International Powertrains, Fuels & Lubricants Meeting

October 21-23, 2013

Seoul, South Korea

COEX Convention & Exhibition Center

Keynote Speakers

Welcome and Opening:

Prof. Kwang Min Chun Prof. Kwang Min Chun
KSAE President

Prof. Kwang Min Chun of Yonsei Univ. finished Bachelor from Seoul National Universityy in 1978, Master from Korea Advanced Institute of Science, in 1980 and Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1988. He worked for Hanyang University from 1980 to 1983 and has been working for Yonsei Univ. since 1989 until now as a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. He is the current President of KoreanSociety of Automotive Engineers and the Technical Committee Chairman of FISITA from 2012. He served as the Head of "Near Zero Emission Vehicle Research Center" in Yonsei Univ. He was awarded the "Best Academic Achievement Awards of Korean Society of Automotive Engineers", Nov. 2002, received a "Korean Presidential Citation", May 2009 and a "Recognition of Service Awards" from FISITA in 2012

Donald G. Hillebrand Donald G. Hillebrand
SAE International President

In his position with Argonne National Laboratory, Donald G. Hillebrand, PhD, leads transportation research activities including vehicle systems and hybrid vehicle development; engine and emissions research, materials research, tribology, thermal life cycle analysis, and economic analysis. Prior to joining Argonne, Dr. Hillebrand worked for Daimler Forschung and Technologie in Stuttgart, Germany. While there, he was responsible for Daimler's research, was technology liaison with the European Commission in Brussels, and interacted with European research organizations and business groups. Dr. Hillebrand also worked in the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Technology Division Transportation (1996-98) where he served as Senior Policy Advisor. Dr. Hillebrand has earned several awards and distinctions throughout his career, including SAE International Distinguished Younger Member, 2000 and SAE International Outstanding Young Engineer, 1999. In July 2011, Dr. Hillebrand was named by Automotive News as one of the 100 most influential people bringing about the electrification of the automobile. A member of SAE International since the age of 18, Dr. Hillebrand served on the SAE International Board of Directors from 2001-2003. In addition, he served as the General Chairman of the 1999 SAE International Government/Industry Meeting. He earned a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering, a master's degree in Mechanical Engineering, and a PhD in Mechanical Systems Engineering from Oakland University.

Mr. Jae Hong Kim Mr. Jae Hong Kim

Dr. Kim is Vice Minister for industry and Technology of Ministry of Trade, Industry & Energy (MOTIE). He finished Bachelor from Hanyang University in 1981, Master from Seoul National University in 1984, and Ph. D. from Hanyang University in 2010 in Public Administration. He has worked for MOTIE from 1983 through various offices such as Industries and Government Policy Coordination.

Featured Keynote Speakers:

Keynote Speech on Korean Automotive Industry

Kim Hae Jin Kim Hae Jin
President of Powertrain R&D , Hyundai Motor Co.

11/2012 President of Powertrain Center
10/2010-10/2012 V.President of Vehicle development center
11/2004-9/2010 Director of Diesel engine development
1/1996-10/2004 Manager of diesel engine design
4/1985-12/1995 S. manager of Gasoline engine design
4/1985 Joining Hyundai Motor Co.
2/1981 Master of Seoul National Univ.
2/1979 Bachelor of Yonsei Univ.

Donald G. Hillebrand Timothy V. Johnson
Corning Incorporated

Tim Johnson is Director - Emerging Regulations and Technologies for Corning Environmental Technologies, Corning Incorporated. Dr. Johnson is responsible for tracking emerging mobile emissions regulations and technologies, and helps develop strategic positioning for new products. He has been with Corning for 26 years, and 16 years in the current position. He is an acknowledged expert and frequent speaker and writer on vehicle emission control technology and trends. In that regard, he received the 2007, 2009, and 2013 Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker Awards from SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers), and in 2008 was awarded the Fellow membership grade by SAE. He is a recipient of California's 2009 Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award.

Dr. Johnson is quite active in various advisory committee roles with government agencies, universities, and private organizations. He is also on the editorial board of two leading powertrain journals and reviews numerous scientific articles on emissions for many more journals each year. He earned his BS and MS Engineering Degrees from the University of Minnesota in 1978 and 1979, and his Doctor of Science from MIT in 1987.