International Powertrains, Fuels & Lubricants Meeting

October 16-19, 2017

Beijing, China

China National Convention Center

Local Organizing Committee Members

Shijin Shuai

Shijin Shuai, Chair
Shijin Shuai is Professor of the Department of Automotive Engineering, Associate Director of the Center for Combustion Energy at Tsinghua University, and Director of Oil Products and Clean Fuels Committee of the Chinese Society for Internal Combustion Engines. He received his bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, majoring in internal combustion engines. He joined Tsinghua University’s Department of Automotive Engineering in 2000, where he is working on clean fuels, high-efficiency combustion, and emission aftertreatment. He has published more than 170 journal papers.

Hongming Xu Hongming Xu, Co-Chair
Hongming Xu is Professor and Chair of Energy and Automotive Engineering and Head of Vehicle and Engine Research Centre, University of Birmingham. He obtained bachelor’s and master’s degrees in engineering from Hefei University of Technology and a Ph.D. from Imperial College and then worked as post-doctoral Research Fellow and Senior Research Fellow. He moved to Jaguar Land Rover in 2000, where he was a Technical Specialist until he joined the University of Birmingham in 2005. He has 300 publications in engine research involving experimental and modelling studies. He is Fellow of IMechE and SAE International.

Thomas Wallner Thomas Wallner, PF&L Activity Chair
Thomas Wallner is a Principal Mechanical Engineer and Manager of Fuels, Engine, and Aftertreatment Research at Argonne’s Center for Transportation Research. In this role, he and his team plan, perform, and analyze work for research projects on light-, heavy-duty, as well as off-road engine and combustion topics with various fuels, including hydrogen and natural gas, gasoline, and alcohol fuels as well as diesel fuel. Wallner is also Assistant Professor in the Mechanical Engineering–Engineering Mechanics Department at Michigan Technological University. He has published more than 80 peer-reviewed technical papers and holds a European Patent on hydrogen injection strategies.

Bengt Johansson Bengt Johansson, PF&L Activity Vice Chair
Bengt Johansson is a professor of mechanical engineering at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology in Saudi Arabia. From 2001 to 2015, he was professor of internal combustion engines at Lund University and head of the combustion engine group from 2004-15. He was also director of the Centre of Competence Combustion Processes with a number of international industry partners 2003-15. He has published more than 250 papers within HCCI and other low-temperature combustion processes. Johansson has been part-time professor at TU Eindhoven, 2011-2015, Chair of the SAE Engine Combustion Committee 2012-15, and Chair of the HCCI fuels collaborative task within the International Energy Agency, 2006-15.

Zhen Huang Zhen Huang
Zhen Huang, Chair Professor and Vice President of Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU). His research interests are focused on engine combustion, alternative fuel for transportation, and urban air pollution control. He has published over 250 papers in the technical literature and obtained 32 invention patents.

Zuohua Huang Zuohua Huang
Zuohua Huang, Professor of the Department of Automotive Engineering, Scholl of Energy and Power Engineering of Xi’an Jiaotong University. He received his bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. from Xi’an Jiaotong University, majoring in internal combustion engines and fuel combustion. He joined in the Department of Automotive Engineering, Xi’an Jiaotong University in 1987, and is working on IC engine combustion, spray and atomization, and fuel fundamental combustion. He is the editor of journal FUEL and has published 300 papers in international journals.

Kang Li Kang Li
Kang Li, Senior Engineer and Vice Chief Engineer of FAW R&D Center. He earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in the Thermophysics Department of University of Science and Technology of China, and his Ph.D. in the State Key Laboratory of Engine Combustion, Tianjin University.

Liguang Li Liguang Li
Liguang Li, Professor of Tongji University, Fellow SAE. He received a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Tianjin University. He joined Tongji University as a Privileged Professor and the leading professor of engine branch in the School of Automotive Studies in 2005. He became the Kolbenschmidt Peirburg (KSPG) Professorship Chair in CDHK, Tongji University since 2012. He is now also the Executive Vice Dean of the School of Mechanical Engineering.

Shusheng Li Shusheng Li
Shusheng Li, Senior Researcher, Vice President & Secretary General of Chinese Society for Internal Combustion Engines (CSICE), and Vice Chief Engineer of Shanghai Marine Diesel Engine Research Institute. He previously was Vice General Manager & Chief Engineer of CNPC Jichai Power Equipment Co.

Dehui Tong Dehui Tong
Dehui Tong, Vice President of Weichai Power, Director of State Key Laboratory of Engine Reliability, and Vice Director of State Engineering Technology Research Center of Commercial Vehicle Powertrain System. He joined Weichai in 1985, and is focusing on the technology research of internal combustion engines and key components.

Zhi Wang Zhi Wang
Zhi Wang, Associate Professor of the Department of Automotive Engineering, Tsinghua University. He previously served as a chief engineer for the development of heavy duty diesel engines at Dongfeng Motor Corp. He earned a Ph.D. in power engineering and engineering thermophysics from Tsinghua University. He has given more than 20 invited talks and keynotes on high-efficiency clean combustion and numerical simulation, mainly DISI, HCCI, MPCI, PODE, pre-ignition and super-knock.

Junjie Yang Junjie Yang
JunJie Yang, Vice Chief Engineer of PetroChina Lubricant Co. He got his master’s in organic chemistry from Chinese Academy of Sciences, and has been with PetroChina for 30 years. He is responsible for research and development and key customer relationships. He has published more than 10 papers and several books in lubricants area.

Mingfa Yao Mingfa Yao
Mingfa Yao, Yangtze River scholars chair Professor & Director of State Key Laboratory of Engines of Tianjin University. He received his bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. from Tianjin University, majoring in internal combustion engines. His research areas include clean combustion theory with high efficiency, alternative fuel combustion, and emissions control technology. He is also the Deputy Director of Combustion, Energy-Saving and Emission Control Committee of Chinese Society for Internal Combustion Engines.

Jianrong Zhang Jianrong Zhang
Jianrong Zhang,Deputy Chief Engineer of SINOPEC, Research Institute of Petroleum Processing (RIPP). He received bachelor’s master’s degrees from Hunan University and RIPP, respectively, majoring in chemistry. He joined in RIPP in 1990 and is working on fuels and lubricants.

Jianguang Zhou Jianguang Zhou
Jianguang Zhou, Vice Director of Dongfeng Motor Corp., Technical Center. He earned a Ph.D. in engineering with a focus on combustion science of internal combustion engine from Hiroshima University, Japan. Zhou is responsible for Dongfeng self-branded vehicle development in the areas of engines, new energy vehicles, ECU, intelligent connected vehicles, and overseas business.



Platinum Sponsors
  • Afton Chemical
  • Lubrizol
  • Petro China Logo
  • Saudi Aramco
  • Shell

Gold Sponsors
  • Chevron Logo
  • Corning

Silver Sponsors
  • SGS Group logo

Bronze Sponsors
  • BASF logo

Conference Supporters
  • Cambustion
  • Innospec Logo
  • TRC