SAE/JSAE 2016 Small Engine Technology Conference & Exhibition

November 15-17, 2016

Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Embassy Suites Hotel @ Charleston Area Convention Center

Keynote Speakers

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Hiroshi Ito Hiroshi Ito
General Manager, Planning Division Motorcycle & Engine Company
Kawasaki Heavy Industries, Ltd.

1985-1986 Financial Staff
1986-1991 HR Staff
1992-1999 Product Planning Staff (from 1995 Assistant Manager)
1999-2005 Specialist in Planning Division
2005-2008 Manager of Asian business (from 2007 Senior Manager)
2008-2014 President of Kawasaki Motores do Brasil
2015-Deputy General Manager, Planning Division
2016-General Manager, Planning Division

Hiroshi Ito, since the beginning of his career, has dedicated his effort and energy to marketing including product planning of Kawasaki's Motorcycle. From 1992 to present except for the year in Brazil, have been in charge of product planning from many aspects. Motorcycle enthusiast - especially off-road riding

Where motorcycles should go when automatic drive and ICT technology has realized to automobiles?

They say some advanced countries or regions such as EU, California, the USA, are considering to prohibit internal combustion engines by 2050. Toyota announced last October that they will no longer be selling automobiles powered only by internal combustion engine, by the same year.

What will happen to motorcycles? Many people say motorcycles will survive with the simple schematic change to an electric motor and battery. It may not be so simple. There are other critical and essential technologies, such as ICT and auto drive, which are expected to be realized within 10-30 years.

These technologies could pose a threat to the existence of motorcycles, if they are not successfully utilized for motorcycles, as they have been for other automobiles. With their applications, traffic accidents may decrease dramatically with motorcycles, as well.

Jaal Ghandhi Keynote Speaker

Jaal Ghandhi
Chairman, Mechanical Engineering
Grainger Professor of Sustainable Energy
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Professor Jaal Ghandhi received his PhD from Princeton University in 1995 and has been on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since that time. He is currently the Grainger Professor of Sustainable Energy and the Chairman of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Professor Ghandhi's research is focused on understanding turbulent mixing and combustion in internal combustion engines. He has published widely in this field, covering spark- and compression-ignition engines and the application of optical diagnostics to investigate in-cylinder phenomena. Professor Ghandhi has been recognized as a Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for his contributions. Since 1999 Professor Ghandhi has served as Director of the Wisconsin Small Engine Consortium (WSEC).

Zoran Filipi Zoran Filipi
Chair & Executive Director
Timken Endowed Chair in Vehicle System Design
Clemson University

Dr. Zoran Filipi is Professor, Timken Endowed Chair in Vehicle System Design, and Chair of the Automotive Engineering Department at Clemson University (CU). He also serves as the Executive Director of the Campbell Graduate Engineering Center, the academic anchor of the CU International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR) in Greenville, SC. He was with the University of Michigan between 1994 and 2011, where he rose to the rank of research professor and held several leadership positions. Filipi received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Belgrade in 1992. His main research interests are advanced IC engine concepts, alternative fuels, hybrid powertrain systems, and energy for transportation. He published over 178 papers in international journals and refereed conference proceedings, and holds three patents. Filipi is an SAE Fellow, ASME Fellow, the recipient of the SAE Forest R. McFarland Award (2009), and the Editor-in-Chief of the SAE Journal of Alternative Powertrains.



Gold Sponsors
  • Bosch

Bronze Sponsors
  • BASF
  • Intertek
  • Lubrizol
  • Pruefrex

Conference Supporters
  • Advanced