SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Paul M. Bevilaqua Receives 2002 SAE Clarence L. "Kelly" Johnson Aerospace Vehicle Design and Development Award

Warrendale, PA, Oct. 22, 2003 - Paul M. Bevilaqua, Program Manager for Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company, has received the 2002 SAE Clarence L. "Kelly" Johnson Award. Bevilaqua was presented with the award during a banquet ceremony at the 2003 Aerospace Congress & Exhibition in September 2003.

This award, established in 1993, recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves by making significant contributions during their career in the innovative design and development of advanced aircraft and/or spacecraft, especially those vehicles that perform military missions. It honors the memory of Mr. Clarence L. (Kelly) Johnson and the enormous impact he had on the aerospace industry as the aeronautical genius who created Lockheed's famed Skunk Works and who played a leading role in the design and development of more than 40 of the world's most advanced aircraft.

Bevilaqua has more than 30 years of experience in the aviation industry during which time he has made significant internationally recognized contributions to the technology, development, and design of military aircraft. He spent most of his career in the design and development of Short Take-Off and Vertical Landing (STOVL) aircraft and pioneered a shaft-driven fan propulsion system for such aircraft. He joined Lockheed Martin in 1985, and held the position of Chief Engineer of Advanced Development at the company's famed Skunk Works where he played a leading role in the creation of the Joint Strike Fighter Program.

Bevilaqua holds a bachelor's degree in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Notre Dame, and a master's degree and doctorate in Aeronautics and Astronautics from Purdue University. He is a member of the Society of Automotive Engineers, and has served on the VSTOL Committee as well as the Military Aircraft and Propulsion Committee.