SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

SAE International Announces Winners of 2013 Clean Snowmobile Challenge

WARRENDALE, Pa., March 16, 2013 - SAE International announces the final results for its 2013 Clean Snowmobile Challenge™ (CSC). The event was held March 4-9 at KRC Keweenaw Research Center, in Houghton, Mich.

CSC is an engineering design competition for college and university student members that challenge engineering students to reengineer an existing snowmobile to reduce emissions and noise. Their modified snowmobiles compete in a variety of events including emissions, noise, fuel economy/endurance, acceleration, handling, static display, cold start and design.

Finalists and award winners include:


- First Place Winner Overall – University of Wisconsin Madison                           
- Second Place Winner Overall – Kettering                                 
- Third Place Winner Overall – University of Idaho           
- Best Performance Winner (L&S5) – Michigan Tech                               
- Best Ride Winner (Denso) – University of Idaho                                   
- Best Emissions Winner (AVL) – SUNY Buffalo                         
- Lowest "In Service" Emissions (Sensors) –Kettering                             
- Best Design Winner (SAE International) –University of Idaho                             
- Best Fuel Economy Winner (Gage) – Clarkston                        
- Quietest Snowmobile Winner (PCB) Camoplact Trac – Kettering University                                
- Most Practical Winner (BRC) – University of Wisconsin Madison                                   
- Best Value Winner (EMITEC) – University of Idaho                               
- Best Acceleration (Woody's) – University of Wisconsin Platteville                                 
- Best Handling (Polaris) – Michigan Technological University                             
- Most Sportsmanlike Winner (AVL) – University of Wisconsin Platteville                         
- Innovation (BASF) – University of Idaho                                  
- Safety Award (Talon) – University of Idaho                              
- Most Improved (Aristo) – University of Idaho                           
- Best Engine Design (Mahle) – Kettering University                               
- HBPSI Trail Trac Award – University of Wisconsin Platteville                             
- Best Paper (Schwegman, Lundberg, Woessner) – University of Idaho   

SUNY Buffalo competed in the event with a diesel engine, passing the standards set for soot output.

CSC is part of SAE International’s Collegiate Design Series ™. Other competitions in the series include Baja SAE®, Aero Design®, Clean Snowmobile Challenge, Formula SAE® and Supermileage®.

SAE International is a global association of more than 138,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series.


- -