SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

SAE Committee Honored by Bush Administration for Protecting Climate and Stratospheric Ozone

Warrendale, PA,, April 28, 2003 - United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Christie Todd Whitman presented the Society of Automotive Engineers' Interior Climate Control Standards Committee with an EPA Stratospheric Ozone Protection Award for organizational achievement in recognition of its ongoing actions to protect the Earth's climate and stratospheric ozone layer. The award was one of 23 individual and organizational awards presented at an Earth Day (April 22) evening event at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C.

According to the EPA, "All award recipients have demonstrated ingenuity, leadership and public purpose by achieving reduction of ozone-depleting and heat-trapping gas emissions. By reducing these emissions they will protect against risks such as skin cancer, cataracts, increased range for certain diseases and rising sea levels."

"The people, organizations and communities recognized by the Climate, Ozone, and Atmospheric Achievement awards are making impressive contributions to environmental protection," said Administrator Whitman. "Their work represents the ingenuity and effort that is needed to protect the Earth's atmosphere, and these are the leaders in this international effort," she continued.

Ward Atkinson, Chairman of the SAE Interior Climate Standards Committee accepted the award in Washington on behalf of the Society. SAE committee members have been involved with environmental issues for many years. In 1990 the EPA presented individual Stratospheric Ozone Protection Awards to committee members, Ward Atkinson, James A. Baker and the late Simon Oulouhojian. In Montreal, Quebec on September 14, 1997 during the 10 Anniversary Celebration of the Montreal Protocol these same individuals received The EPA "Best-of-the-Best" Award.

The 1997 Best-of-the-Best Awards recognize those annual winners who demonstrated the most exceptional commitment to environmental stewardship through precedent-setting innovation and international leadership. The 71 Best-of-the-Best champions made truly outstanding contributions to protect Earth's stratospheric ozone layer.

Since 1990, 461 individuals, companies, and organizations from 39 countries have earned the United States Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Stratospheric Ozone Protection Award. The EPA Stratospheric Ozone Protection Awards are particularly prestigious because nominations compete globally using previous winners as judges.

More information on the SAE Interior Climate Control Standards Committee can be found on the SAE web site at "> The SAE International web site is

Media contact: Steve Yaeger - (724) 772-4068,