SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Toyota's Osamu Nagata to Receive SAE Foundation Industry Leadership Award

WARRENDALE, Pa., Feb. 10, 2014 -

The SAE Foundation announced today that Osamu Nagata will be honored with its 2014 Industry Leadership Award. Nagata is the president and chief executive officer of Toyota Motor Engineering and Manufacturing North America, Inc. (TEMA), where he leads Toyota’s North American manufacturing and engineering operations.  He also is senior vice president, Toyota Motor North America, Inc. (TMA) and managing officer, Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC). Nagata will be the featured speaker at the SAE Foundation’s Annual Celebration Dinner in May.

“Nagata-san exemplifies the finest attributes of a leader in the mobility industry – passion, commitment, innovation and collaboration,” said Lori Gatmaitan, director of the SAE Foundation. “This honor is a testament to his prestigious career, as well as the belief that he will continue to do great things for the industry. It is an equally important way to recognize the tremendous commitment and support by Toyota of SAE’s science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education programs.”


Since 1990, Toyota has been one of the strongest corporate partners of the SAE Foundation. In addition to its generous financial support and sponsorships, Toyota employees contribute their time and talents to support SAE’s A World In Motion® (AWIM) programs in Toyota communities.

“We want to inspire young people to consider a career in engineering or manufacturing,” said Nagata.  “Our partnerships with the SAE Foundation through A World in Motion, Formula SAE and the David Hermance Hybrid Technologies Scholarship fill an important role by helping to propel a new generation’s interest in STEM subjects from an early age.”

The 2014 SAE Foundation Annual Celebration will take place on Thursday, May 22, at the Masonic Temple in Detroit. In addition to the Leadership Award presentation, the evening includes a unique VIP Tour, Sponsors Reception and Guest Networking Reception where local students present exhibits from their participation in  SAE International’s award-winning STEM education programs - A World In Motion®, F1 in Schools™ and the Collegiate Design Series™. Previous honorees include:

2013 Mary T. Barra, General Motors

2012 Edsel B. Ford, II, Ford

2011 John Krafcik, Hyundai

2011 Peter Marks, Robert Bosch LLC

2010 Rodney O’Neal, Delphi

2009 Jim Press, Chrysler LLC

2008 Alan Mulally, Ford

2007 Carlos Ghosn, Nissan

2006 Robert A. Lutz, General Motors

2005 Dr. Shoichiro Toyoda, Toyota

2004 J.T. Battenberg, III, Delphi

2003 Gary L. Cowger, General Motors

2002 Heinz C. Prechter, ASC Incorporated (posthumous award)

2001 Shamel T. Rushwin, Ford

2000 Donald E. Hackworth, General Motors

In addition to the Industry Leadership Award, the Foundation will also present its annual Stefan Pischinger Young Industry Leadership Award. This award recognizes professionals with less than 12 years of industry experience who have significant accomplishments and potential for leadership growth. To nominate an individual visit by April 1, 2014.

Proceeds from this annual fundraiser benefit the SAE Foundation, the charitable arm of SAE International. The SAE Foundation is addressing one of the most pressing issues facing industry today - the decline of students enrolling in science and technology programs – by providing programs that bring math and science to life and sow the seeds of endless possibilities for today's students. From the acclaimed A World In Motion® and F1 in Schools™ programs for students in grades K-12, to the challenging, highly-competitive SAE Collegiate Design Series™, along with scholarships and awards, the SAE Foundation helps to inspire the next generation of innovators.

For more information visit or call Renée Hayes at 724.772.8508.


















- END -