SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

SAE International to Honor Mobility Engineering Professionals During COMVEC Annual Industry Keynote and Awards Luncheon

WARRENDALE, Pa., Sept. 6, 2016 - The SAE International 2016 Commercial Vehicle Engineering Congress (COMVEC) will feature the Annual Industry Keynote & Awards Luncheon on the final day of the show from noon – 2:00 p.m. This event is a can’t miss program that provides a unique opportunity to have lunch with your peers and network with industry leaders.

Keynote Speaker

The event will feature Roger Nielsen, COO of Daimler Trucks North America LLC. Nielsen is responsible for the entire Daimler Trucks North America manufacturing network, as well as all levels of operations in Quality, Supplier Management, Logistics, and Customer Application Engineering. In addition, he oversees Thomas Built Buses, Freightliner Custom Chassis Corporation and DTNA's continuous improvement programs. He was appointed COO in May 2001.

Under his leadership, DTNA's factories have been named by both Quality Magazine and Assembly Magazine as "The Plant of the Year". In addition, DTNA's factories have all achieved landfill-free status.

2016 Awards Recipients

In addition to the keynote, the awards portion will recognize the best of the best in the industry. There will be four awards given out:

The McFarland Award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board (EMB) in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information. This year’s recipient is Russell Truemner of AVL Powertrain Engineering Inc.

The Sid Olsen award recognizes an outstanding engineering executive in the off-highway industry. This year’s recipient is Ramin Younessi, Vice President, Industrial Power Systems and Growth Markets at Caterpillar, Inc.

The SAE/AEM Outstanding Young Engineer Award, established in 1996, recognizes an outstanding young engineer in the off-highway or powerplant industry. This year’s recipient is Erick Scarpone, Manufacturing Engineer 3 at Caterpillar, Inc.

The Crawford Award recognizes individuals for outstanding service in the technical committee activities of the Society. This includes valuable contributions to the work of SAE technical committees, unusual leadership in the activities of an SAE technical committee, significant contributions as a representative of the Society to the accomplishments of technical committees of other organizations or of government agencies, and outstanding contributions to SAE technical committee work in the form of research, test methods and procedures, and/or development of standards. This year’s award goes to Eric T. Swensen, Manager Vehicle Requirements at Navistar.

SAE International congratulates all the award recipients. The SAE 2016 Commercial Vehicle Engineering Congress will be held October 4-6 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Illinois, USA. Executive leadership will be provided by Daimler.

For the most up to date information on the 2016 technical program, special events, and integrated technical displays, visit the SAE International website at

To request press credentials, email or call 1-724-772-8522.

SAE International is a global association committed to being the ultimate knowledge source for the engineering profession. By uniting over 127,000 engineers and technical experts, we drive knowledge and expertise across a broad spectrum of industries. We act on two priorities: encouraging a lifetime of learning for mobility engineering professionals and setting the standards for industry engineering. We strive for a better world through the work of our charitable arm, the SAE Foundation, which helps fund programs like A World in Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series™.

- -