SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Dr. Parambakatoor R. (Swami) Perumalswami to Receive the 2003 SAE Henry Ford II Distinguished Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering

Warrendale, PA, Jan. 14, 2004 - Dr. Parambakatoor R. Perumalswami of the Ford Motor Company has been selected to receive the 2003 Henry Ford II Distinguished Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering. Perumalswami will be presented with the award on March 9, 2004 during the Honors Convocation at the annual SAE World Congress in Detroit, Michigan.

This award, established in 1988, recognizes an individual or team who uses their engineering skills to achieve product or manufacturing process contributions that have had the greatest positive effect on the passenger car, truck, and bus industries. The award, funded by Ford Motor Company, honors the memory of Henry Ford II and the enormous impact he had on the automotive industry.

Perumalswami is being recognized, along with three others, for his accomplishment in developing and implementing a unique CAE durability prediction method for MIG and laser welds, a method currently used by Ford Motor Company and several of its subsidiaries in vehicle development. Other members of the team are Pingsha Dong of Battelle Memorial Institute, and Ramamohan Potukutchi and Hari M. Agrawal (team leader), both from Ford.

Perumalswami has been at Ford Motor Company for more than 25 years in management of CAE development, training, consulting and applications. He has made significant contributions in automotive body and chassis structures, and has taught Finite Element Structural Analysis, both at Ford and at several U.S. universities.

Perumalswami received a B.E.C.E. degree with honors from the University of Madras in India. He also holds a Doctorate in structural engineering from the University of Minnesota.