SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Embry Riddle Aeronautical Team Wins Formula SAE Grant

WARRENDALE, Pa., May 31, 2006 - Embry Riddle Team Formula SAE team members from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University have been selected to receive the William R. "Bill" Adam Formula SAE Grant for Rookie Teams.  The award was presented to the team prior to this year’s Formula SAE competition in Romeo, Mich., May 17-21.

The grant, established in 2004, provides funding for a Formula SAE rookie team to assist with the development of their project.  It honors William R. "Bill" Adam, a 35-year member of SAE International and major contributor to Formula SAE, for his lifelong dedication to mentoring young engineers.

This is the first time that Embry Riddle Aeronautical Universityhas entered a team into the Formula SAE event.  The team, led by captain David Majko, built the car as an extracurricular activity. 

“With this being the team’s first-ever car, we learned a lot about designing and building cars and how much hard work goes into them,” Majko said. 

Other team members include: Yadira Chatman, Craig Czlapinski, Senkosal Hun, Nicole Ferraro, Michael Lind, Ryle Maxson, Nazim Mohd Nur, Dino Paolucci, Andrew Pope, Jason Sabarese, Jeff Sikorski and Adam Stawinski.  The team’s advisors are Dr. Hany Nakhla and Dr. Darris White.

Formula SAE is part of the SAE Collegiate Design Series, which provides students with real-world, hands-on experience in automotive and aerospace engineering. They work as a team to build a competitive vehicle while staying within a budget.  For more information about the SAE Collegiate Design Series, contact the SAE Corporate Communications department.

(Team photo: First row kneeling - Senkosal Hun, Nicole Ferraro, Craig Czlapinski, David Majko, Dr. Darris White, Andrew Pope 
Back Row - Nazim Mohd Nur, Adam Stawinski, Jeff Sikorski, Yadira Chatman, Ryle Maxson, Michael Lind, Jason Sabarese, Dino Paolucci, Dr. Hany Nakhla )