SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Six Engineers Receive SAE Technical Standards Board Outstanding Contribution Award

WARRENDALE, Pa., May 4, 2007 - Six engineers received SAE International's Technical Standards Board Outstanding Contribution Award at the SAE 2007 World Congress.

This award, established in 1953, recognizes individuals for outstanding service to SAE International's technical committee activities.

The SAE Foundation funds this award. In addition to supporting the awards, recognition and scholarship programs of SAE International, the SAE Foundation develops and funds programs and incentives that foster student interest in engineering, scientific and technical education.

The following recipients were honored for their work on the Motor Vehicle Council.

Bruce Emaus Bruce Emaus
Emaus, President of Vector CANtech, Inc., has more than 35 years of experience in electronic product development. Before joining Vector, he worked for a wide spectrum of large and small companies and ran an electronics product design and consulting company. He has four published documents.

An active member of SAE International, Emaus is chairman of the Embedded Software Standards Committee. He also organizes the SAE World Congress technical sessions for in-vehicle software and distributed embedded systems engineering.

Emaus holds a bachelor's in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan. He resides in Northville, Mich.

Marion Pottinger Marion Pottinger
Pottinger conducts a consulting practice, M'Engineering LLC, which is devoted to the mechanics of tires and tire and vehicle systems. He also helps teach a tire mechanics course at the University of Akron.

Prior to his retirement in 2003, Pottinger held the following positions: Technical Director, Smithers Scientific Services; Associate Research and Development Fellow, Uniroyal Goodrich; Tire Mechanics Research Manager, BFGoodrich Tire Group; Research Officer, U.S. Air Force.

An avid writer, Pottinger has authored or co-authored 65 publications, including four books, and has drafted 13 SAE Recommended Practices. He also holds five patents.

In addition to SAE International, Pottinger is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society for Testing Materials, the Society for Experimental Mechanics, and The Tire Society.

Pottinger, a registered Professional Engineer, earned his bachelor's in mechanical engineering from the University of Cincinnati, and his master's in mechanical engineering and his doctorate from Purdue University. He resides in Akron, Ohio.

Larry Powell Larry Powell
Powell is a senior technical leader for cable and copper alloys at Delphi, where he works in the Packard Electrical/Electronic Architecture division in Warren, Ohio. During his time at Delphi, he has served in a variety of product engineering roles. Previously, he was a production foreman in the Delco Remy division at General Motors, where he began his career in 1971.

Powell has received awards for his participation in the Wire & Cable Focus Conference, where he has presented a number of award-winning papers. He has also presented papers at the International Wire and Cable Symposium.

Powell is a 20-year member of SAE International. He earned his bachelor's in electrical engineering from Youngstown State University. He resides in Cortland, Ohio.

Gary Rupp Gary Rupp
Rupp has been with Ford Motor Company since 1979, where he is a principal research engineer in the vehicle package and ergonomics department. Prior to joining Ford, he was an assistant professor of industrial engineering at The University of Toledo.

Rupp has authored numerous standards for SAE International and the International Standards Organization (ISO). As a member of SAE International, Rupp chairs the Human Accommodation and Design Devices Committee. He is also a chair of two ISO committees and a member of the Human Factors Engineering Society, the Transportation Research Board, and the Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Association.

Rupp has a bachelor's in electrical engineering from Ohio State University, and a master's and doctorate in bioengineering from the University of Michigan. He resides in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Chris Winkler Chris Winkler
Winkler is a research scientist emeritus of the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute, where he worked in the Engineering Research Division from 1969 until his recent retirement. He is in the midst of a three-month appointment as a visiting researcher at the University of Cambridge.

Winkler is the author of numerous publications in the field of vehicle dynamics, including 16 SAE papers, and has been an invited speaker at two SAE events.

A member of SAE International, Winkler is a chairman of the Vehicle Dynamics Standards Committee and has worked on the development of many SAE standards. He is a founding trustee of the International Forum for Road Transport Technology.

Winkler earned his bachelor's in mechanical engineering from Bucknell University and his master's in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan. He resides in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Edward Wolfe Edward Wolfe
Wolfe is a senior project engineer in the thermal systems department at Delphi, where he designs and develops thermal automotive components for vehicle interiors.

A member of SAE International, Wolfe is a member of the Interior Climate Control Standards Committee and the I-MAC Team on Refrigerant System Leakage Reduction. He also co-authored an SAE paper that was presented at the SAE 2005 Vehicle Thermal Management Systems Conference and Exposition.

Wolfe holds a bachelor's in mechanical engineering from Virginia Polytechnic and State University and a master's in mechanical engineering from Lehigh University. He resides in Amherst, N.Y.