SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Hofbauer Receives SAE Award for Automotive Research

WARRENDALE, Pa., May 14, 2007 - Peter HofbauePeter Hofbauer, Chairman of Advanced Propulsion Technologies and Chief Scientist at FEV Engine Technology, has been selected to receive SAE International's Arch T. Colwell Merit Award.  He was presented the award during the SAE 2007 World Congress.

This award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of outstanding papers presented at an SAE or SAE section meeting.  The late Arch T. Colwell, who first funded this award, served SAE International in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as President in 1941. 

The SAE Foundation now funds this award.  In addition to supporting the awards, recognition and scholarship programs of SAE International, the SAE Foundation develops and funds programs and incentives that foster student interest in engineering, scientific and technical education.

Hofbauer is being recognized for his paper, “Opposed Piston Opposed Cylinder (OPOC) Engine for Military Ground Vehicles” (SAE paper 2005-01-1548).

As Chairman of the Board of Directors for Advanced Propulsion Technologies, Hofbauer is also Chief Scientist at FEV Engine Technology and Vice President of Combat Advanced Propulsion, LLC.  Previously, he was the head of Worldwide Powertrain Development at Volkswagen in Germany, where he worked for 20 years.  During that time, Hofbauer conceived, developed and brought into mass-production the first, and now highly successful, VW Diesel engine.  Since arriving to the U.S. in 1997, Hofbauer invented the opposed piston opposed cylinder engine, which is the topic of his award-winning paper. 

Hofbauer is a member of SAE International.  He earned his master's in mechanical engineering from Technical University Vienna, Austria, and his doctorate in mechanical engineering from Technical University Aachen, Germany.  He was appointed Professor by Technical University Berlin, Germany, and Honorary-Professor by the Minister of Science and Art of Lower Saxony, Germany.  He resides in West Bloomfield, Mich.