SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

SAE International Announces 2007 Faculty Advisor Award Winners

WARRENDALE, Pa., March 12, 2008 - SAE International and the Teetor Educational Awards Committee are honoring three mechanical engineering professors with the Faculty Advisors Award. 

This award was created to recognize outstanding faculty advisors at SAE Collegiate Branches.  It acknowledges those faculty advisors who help students and other faculty to understand the value of membership and involvement in SAE.

The 2007 recipients include:

  • Jason R. Blough, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Engineering Mechanics, Michigan Technological University – Blough has been the SAE Student Chapter Faculty Advisor at Michigan Tech since 2003 and the SAE Clean Snowmobile Team Faculty Advisor since 2006. He participates on the SAE Snowmobile Committee and has published numerous SAE papers on various noise and vibration and signal processing topics. Blough also has received the 2007 SAE Ralph R Teetor Educational Award, the 2006 “Scientist of the Year” award from the Blueribbon Coalition, and an SAE Arch T. Colwell Merit Award.

  • Jay Kinsinger, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Cedarville UniversityKinsinger earned two bachelor’s degrees from the University of Dayton in mechanical and manufacturing engineering technologies and a master’s degree in biomedical engineering from Wright State University. His areas of expertise include computer aided design/computer aided manufacturing, manufacturing processes, and rehabilitation engineering. Cedarville University has participated in SAE Micro Baja, SAE Supermileage, SAE Aero Design, Baja SAE and Formula SAE, as well as alternate fuel vehicle competitions and solar boat racing ( Cedarville University is the reigning Solar Splash™ world champion). Kinsinger has advised five Baja SAE teams and is currently advising his fifth Formula SAE team. He also serves on the Formula SAE international rules committee.

  • Volker Sick, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Michigan – Sick earned degrees in chemistry and physical chemistry at the University of Heidelberg in Germany. His has been involved with SAE since 1993, including serving and chairing a number of committees and activities, and serving as the faculty advisor for Michigan’s SAE Collegiate Chapter, MSAE, and the Formula SAE team, MRacing. Sick’s research focuses on novel optical imaging diagnostics for reactive flows and is often conducted in close collaboration with the automotive industry. This includes the development and application of laser techniques for combustion diagnostics, molecular spectroscopy, turbulence, internal engine combustion, comparisons with detailed modeling, and industrial applications.

Nominees for the Faculty Advisors Award must be an SAE Faculty Advisor for a minimum of three years; maintain the minimum student membership at the Collegiate Branch level (an average of 25 student members for the last three years); and be SAE members.

- SAE -