SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Thomas A. Stuart to Receive the 2002 SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award

Warrendale, PA, Oct. 6, 2003 - Dr. Thomas A. Stuart has been selected to receive the 2002 SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award. He will be presented with the award at the Honors Convocation of the annual SAE World Congress in Detroit, Michigan, March 2004.

Established in 1976, this award recognizes the authors of the best technical paper relating to automotive electronics engineering presented at an SAE meeting. The award pays tribute to the many engineering innovations fostered by Mr. Vincent Bendix, 1931 SAE President, during his long, productive career in the automotive industry. Stuart was selected as the 2002 recipient along with co-authors Fang Fang, Xiaopeng Wang, Cyrus Ashtiani and Ahmad Pesaran for their outstanding SAE technical paper: "A Modular Battery Management System for HEVs" (2002-01-1918).

Stuart is presently a professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Toledo, where his research involves automotive applications for power electronics and embedded microcontrollers. Previously, Stuart served as a faculty member at Clarkson College of Technology and as a design engineer at Rockwell Corporation.

He earned his bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois, and his master's and doctoral degrees from Iowa State University.