SAE International is a global association of more than 128,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. Read More

Engineers Receive SAE Award for Transient Fuel Research

WARRENDALE, Pa., June 13, 2008 - A team of engineers from Ford Motor Company, Lotus Engineering and Emmeskay, Inc., are recipients of SAE International's Colwell Merit Award. They were honored during SAE 2008 World Congress in Detroit.

The Colwell Merit Award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of outstanding papers presented at an SAE conference or SAE section meeting. The late Arch T. Colwell, who first funded this award, served SAE International in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as President in 1941.

This award is funded through the SAE Foundation. In addition to supporting the awards, recognition and scholarship programs of SAE International, the SAE Foundation develops and funds programs and incentives that foster student interest in engineering, scientific and technical education.

The following recipients were recognized for co-authoring “Transient Fuel Modeling and Control for Cold Start Intake Cam Phasing” (SAE paper #2006-01-1049).  The paper summarizes the experimental testing of a newly developed transient fuel compensator that directly reacts to changes in intake valve timing.

Eric Curtis
Curtis is a technical leader in the Powertrain Research department and group leader of the Transient Engine Simulation Research Group at Ford Motor Company. Curtis' responsibilities include developing and applying new engine and powertrain simulation tools and methods. Curtis has worked at Ford for 13 years.  Previously, he worked for the engine division of Caterpillar Tractor Company in Peoria, Ill.

In addition to numerous Ford internal research publications, Curtis has authored or co-authored 23 technical publications, including 16 SAE papers. He also holds nine patents in the U.S. and Europe.

Curtis has received several internal awards from Ford Motor Company, including two Technical Achievement Awards and one Henry Ford Technology Award, Ford's highest internal honor for technical achievement.  A member of SAE International since 1995, he represented Ford Motor Company on the SAE Teetor Award Committee and The Combustion and Fuels Committee. He also organized technical sessions for the SAE World Congress and Powertrain, Fuels and Lubricants Conference.

Curtis holds his bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees in mechanical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  He resides in Milan, Mich.

Mrdjan Jankovic
Jankovic is a technical leader in the Powertrain Controls Department at Ford Motor Company, where he develops control and optimization methods for automotive engines.

Jankovic has received several awards, including the Ford Research Technical Achievement Award, the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) TCST Outstanding Paper Award, and the AVEC Best Paper Award. At SAE International, he chairs the SAE Controls and Calibration Committee.  An IEEE Fellow, he also served on the editorial board for the IEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology.

Jankovic holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Belgrade, and master’s and doctoral degrees from Washington University in St. Louis. 

Stephen Magner
Magner is a technical specialist in Ford Motor Company’s Powertrain Research department, focusing on software development and control systems in variable valve trains. He has been with Ford since 1986.

Magner is the author of numerous papers on powertrain controls and mechatronic systems and holds 14 U.S. patents. He is a recipient of Ford Research’s prestigious Technical Achievement Award.  He also organized a Calibration Optimization session at the SAE 2008 World Congress. 

Magner holds a bachelor’s in electrical engineering from the University of Detroit. He holds two master’s degrees, one in electronics and computer control systems from Wayne State University and one in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan.  He resides in Farmington Hills, Mich.

Peter Moilanen
Moilanen is a technical specialist in the Powertrain Research and Advanced Engine Engineering Group at Ford Motor Company, where he works in the Advanced Gasoline Engine department.  He evaluates and develops Direct Injection engines to meet current and future emission standards.

Moilanen holds a master’s degree in mechanical engineering from Michigan Technological University. He resides in Clinton, Mich.

For more information on the recipients at Ford, please contact Said Deep at

John Batteh
Batteh is a senior project engineer at Emmeskay, Inc., in Plymouth, Mich.  Previously, he was a technical expert in the Transient Engine Simulation Group at Ford Motor Company, where he worked for the company’s Research and Advanced Engineering Division. His work focuses on transient powertrain system modeling.

Batteh is a member of SAE International and the Modelica Association. He holds a bachelor’s in mechanical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and a doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan. He resides in Ann Arbor, Mich.

For more information on Batteh, please contact

Jim Wallace
Wallace is a senior calibration engineer at Lotus Engineering in Ann Arbor, Mich. Previously, he was a powertrain calibration technical specialist at Ford Motor Company. He was a key member of the team that developed Ford’s 3.5L V6 PZEV program from the advanced engine stage to production launch.

Wallace earned his bachelor’s in mechanical engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his master’s in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan. He resides in Ann Arbor, Mich.

For more information on Moilanen, please contact Tim Holland of Lotus Engineering at

For more information about SAE International’s Arch T. Colwell Award, please contact