Arch T. Colwell Merit Awardees honored at 2005 SAE World Congress

Warrendale, PA (April 19, 2005) -The authors of 11 SAE technical papers were recognized with the Society's 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award. The awards were presented at the Honors Convocation Luncheon during the SAE 2005 World Congress in Detroit, Michigan, April 11-14, 2005.

This award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of papers of outstanding technical or professional merit presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections during the calendar year. Papers are judged primarily for their value as new contributions to existing knowledge of mobility engineering. The award was funded by the late Arch T. Colwell, who served SAE in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as president in 1941.

1) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-0069: "Determination of Flame-Front Equivalence Ration During Stratified Combustion"

Dr. David A. Rothamer
Research assistant
High Temperature Gas Dynamics Laboratory (HTGL)
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Dr. Jaal Ghandhi
Associate professor of mechanical engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

2) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-0544: "Reduction of Emissions and Fuel Consumption in a 2-Stroke Direct Injection Engine with Multidimensional Modeling and an Evolutionary Search Technique"

Dr. Rolf Reitz
Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI

Mark Ruman

Mark Subramaniam
Project Engineer
FEV Engine Technology, Inc.
Auburn Hills, MI

3) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-0575: "A New Approach for Robust High-Productivity Resistance Spot Welding of Aluminum"

Dr. David Castle
Composite R & D technician
Renault F1
Enstone, Oxfordshire
United Kingdom

Douglas Boomer
Joining technology specialist
Innoval Technology
United Kingdom

Dr. John Hunter
Leader for surfaces and innovations
Novelis Global Technology Centre
Kingston, Ontario

4) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-0695: "Fatigue Damage and Dynamic Natural Frequency Response of Spot-Welded Joints"

Dr. De-Guang Shang
College of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Electronics Technology
Beijing University of Technology
Beijing, China

Dr. Teik C. Lim
Professor of mechanical engineering
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH

Dr. Mark E. Barkey
Associate professor
Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Department
University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL

Dr. Yi Wang
Postdoctoral research fellow
Vibro-Acoustics and Sound Quality Research Laboratory
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH

5) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-0794: "Application of Nylon Composite Recycle Technology to Automotive Parts"

Dr. Christian La Boeuf
Senior research scientist
Engineering Polymer and the Packaging & Industrial Polymers Groups
E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Company
Kingston, Ontario

Denise Carlson
Manager, non-metallic materials
DENSO International
Southfield, MI

H. Peter Kasserra
Principal research scientist (ret.)
E.I. duPont Canada, Inc.

Hiroyuki Yamazaki
Materials Engineering R&D Department
DENSO Corporation

Sunao Fukuda
Executive coordinator
Cooling Systems and Components Division
DENSO Marston, Ltd.

6) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-1008: "An Experimental Examination of J-Turn and Fishhook Maneuvers That May Induce On-Road, Untripped, Light Vehicle Rollover"

Bryan C. O' Harra
Research engineer
Vehicle Research and Test Center
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
East Liberty, OH

Dr. W. Riley Garrott
Vehicle Stability and Control Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Garrick J. Forkenbrock
Project engineer
Vehicle Research and Test Center
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
East Liberty, OH

Mark Heitz
Research engineer
Contract Services Group
Transportation Research Center, Inc. (TRC)

7) SAE Paper No. (2003-01-1791): "Effects of Oxygenates on Soot Processes in DI Diesel Engines: Experiments and Numerical Simulations"

Dr. Charles Mueller (lead author)
Principal member, technical staff
Engine Combustion Department
Combustion Research Facility
Sandia National Laboratories
Livermore, CA

Co-authors: Charles Westbrook, Dennis Siebers, William Pitz, Glen Martin and Lyle Pickett

8) SAE Paper No. (2003-01-2216): "Assessing the Validity of Kinematically Generated Reach Envelopes for Simulations of Vehicle Operators"

Amy Klinkenberger
Product Engineer
Development Group
Takata Restraint Systems
Auburn Hills, MI

Dr. Matthew Parkinson
Lecturer and post-doctoral fellow
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Dr. Matthew Reed
Associate research scientist
Transportation Research Institute
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

9) SAE Paper No. (2003-01-1356): "Engine Performance and Emissions Near the Dilute Limit with Hydrogen Enrichment Using an On-Board Reforming Strategy"

Dr. Ather A. Quader
Dynamic Propulsion and Innovation Center
Delphi Corporation
Shelby Township, MI

Dr. John Kirwan
Staff research engineer
Delphi Research Laboratories
Shelby Township, MI

M. James Grieve
Chief scientist
Propulsion and Fuel Cells Center
Delphi Corporation
Rochester, NY

10) SAE Paper No. (2003-01-3416): "Development and Verification of a Heavy Duty 42/14V Electric Powertrain Cooling System"

Lawrence Barron
Senior Advanced Development Engineer
R&D, Truck Division
Jamestown, NY

Robert Chalgren, Jr.
Product development engineer
Research and Development Department
Engineered Machined Products (EMP), Inc.

11) SAE Paper No. 2003-01-3378: "Drag Reduction, Safety Enhancement, and Performance Improvement for Heavy Vehicles and SUVs Using Advanced Pneumatic Aerodynamic Technologies"

Robert Englar
Principal research engineer
Acoustics & Aerodynamics Division
Georgia Institute of Technology Research Institute
Atlanta, GA