Brian Dwornick to Receive the 2005 Rumbaugh Outstanding Student Leader Award

Brian DwornickWarrendale, PA (September 8, 2005) - Brian Dwornick, a 2005 graduate of Lawrence Technological University (LTU), has been named this year's recipient of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Rumbaugh Outstanding Student Leader Award. Dwornick will be presented with the award during the Honors Convocation at the SAE World Congress in Detroit, Michigan, April 3-7, 2006. As part of the award, he will also receive free SAE lifetime adult membership and a monetary stipend.

This award, established by Max E. Rumbaugh, Jr., SAE Executive Vice President Emeritus, annually recognizes an outstanding SAE student leader, encouraging continued participation in SAE throughout his or her professional career. The award is based on leadership skills demonstrated during the student's senior year of undergraduate studies, and the recipient must be employed in a mobility-related industry at the time of selection.

Dwornick was nominated by Dr. Badih Jawad, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at LTU, and faculty advisor for both the Formula SAE™ team and the SAE Supermileage team. "As team leader for the 2005 Formula SAE, Brian motivated his team to build a car capable of finishing the endurance event for the first time in 8 years," said Jawad. "Under his keen leadership, the car was completed a full two months before the competition, which is a record among teams for this event."

Dwornick is currently a project engineer at Roush Industries in Allen Park, Michigan. He graduated Magna Cum Laude from LTU in May 2005 with a degree in mechanical engineering. Dwornick was awarded the Mechanical Engineering Service Award at the school for outstanding service to the department, and served as both president of the SAE student chapter and vice president of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers student chapter during his senior year.