Engineering professors honored with 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award

WARRENDALE, Pa. (July 27, 2005) -Dr. De-Guang Shang, Dr. Mark E. Barkey, Dr. Yi Wang and Dr. Teik C. Lim were selected to receive the 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award. The award was presented at the Honors Convocation Luncheon during the SAE 2005 World Congress in Detroit, Michigan on April 12, 2005.

This award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of papers of outstanding technical or professional merit presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections during the calendar year. Papers are judged primarily for their value as new contributions to existing knowledge of mobility engineering. The award was funded by the late Arch T. Colwell, who served SAE in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as president in 1941. Eleven papers were selected for this year’s honor, among them is the paper authored by the team listed above: "Fatigue Damage and Dynamic Natural Frequency Response of Spot-Welded Joints" (2003-01-0695).

Dr. De-Guang ShangDr. De-Guang Shang
Dr. Shang has been working in the field of structural integrity and fatigue strength improvement since 1989. He is currently a professor at the College of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Electronics Technology at Beijing University of Technology in China. His main research interests are in the area of multiaxial fatigue, spot-welded fatigue, and finite element analysis under cyclic loading. Dr. Shang is a senior member of Chinese Mechanical Engineering Society. He received his doctorate in mechanical engineering from Northeastern University, Shenyang, China. He also holds his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Northeastern University in mechanical manufacturing and mechanics, respectively.

Dr. Mark E. Barkey
Dr. Barkey is an associate professor in the Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Department at the University of Alabama (UA). He has directed student thesis and research in the area of fatigue testing, and analysis of materials and structures, receiving support for his research from Ford, General Motors, and DaimlerChrysler Corporations. Prior to joining UA, he was a senior engineer in the Fatigue Synthesis and Analysis Group at General Motors Mid-Size Car Division. He has recently written several publications are in the areas of spot weld testing and analysis, multiaxial fatigue and cyclic plasticity of metals, and multiaxial notch analysis. Recent projects include durability testing of adhesively bonded and riveted joints, and the determination of fatigue damage at spot-welds using measurements of the natural frequency of vibration response techniques. Dr. Barkey is a member of the Society of Automotive Engineering (SAE), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), and the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM). He holds a bachelor’s degree in engineering mechanics with a minor in mathematics from the University of Missouri-Rolla, and a master’s and doctorate from the University of Illinois, both in theoretical and applied mechanics.

Dr. Yi Wang
Dr. Wang is currently working in the Vibro-Acoustics and Sound Quality Research Laboratory at the University of Cincinnati as a postdoctoral research fellow. Previously, Dr. Wang had worked at the Institute of Internal Combustion Engine at Dalian University of Technology as an engineer, then senior engineer (1991-1999), Entek Corporation as technical support manager (1996-1999), and Power Engineering Department of Dalian University of Technology as an associate professor (1994-1999). He has published more than 40 technical papers in the filed of I.C. engine noise and vibration analysis and control, vehicle NVH, torsional vibration analysis and damper design, machinery condition monitoring based preventive & predictive maintenance technology, and non-traditional manufacturing technique (ultrasonic vibration machining). Dr. Wang is a past recipient of numerous research/teaching awards in China. He has served as a director on the I.C. Engine CAD board of China Society for Internal Combustion Engines (CSICE) for five years. In addition to being a member of CSICE, CMES and CSVE, he also holds membership in SAE and INCE. Dr. Wang received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mechanical engineering, and his doctorate in power mechanical engineering, all from Dalian University of Technology.

Dr. Teik C. Lim
Dr. Teik C. Lim is a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Cincinnati, where he directs the Vibro-Acoustics and Sound Quality Research Laboratory. He also leads an industrially-sponsored research consortium for right-angle gear dynamics/noise with an emphasis on automotive applications. Dr. Lim has published more than 100 technical papers in machinery noise and vibration control, automotive NVH, gear dynamics, sound quality design, and active control, including numerous SAE conference and journal papers. He is a past recipient of the SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award (2002), the American Society of Engineering Educator’s (ASEE) Beer and Johnston Outstanding Mechanics Educator Award (2001), and the ASEE New Faculty Research First Place Award (2001), among others. Dr. Lim is a registered professional engineer, and associate editor for the Journal of Mechanical Design. He also serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Vehicle Noise and Vibration, SAE Noise and Vibration Committee, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ (ASME) Power Transmission and Gearing Committee, and the INCE Technical Activities Board, where he presently chairs the Experimental Techniques and Instrumentation committee. In addition to being a member of ASME, SAE and INCE, he also holds membership in ASEE, AHS, SEM, IIAV, ASA, Tau Beta Pi and Phi Eta Sigma. Dr. Lim received his bachelor’s degree from Michigan Technological University, his master’s from the University of Missouri-Rolla and his doctorate from The Ohio State University, all in mechanical engineering.