Baja SAE Tennessee Tech

WARRENDALE, Pa., April 24, 2013 - 2013 Baja Season Officially Opens with a Cornell Win in Tennessee

The 2013 Baja SAE season has officially begun as teams traveled to Cookeville, Tennessee. Baja SAE Tennessee Tech was hosted by Tennessee Tech University and held at their School of Agriculture, Hyder-Burks Agricultural Pavilion Cookeville, TN. 85 Teams made the trip for the four day event from April 18-21, 2013.

Thursday morning began with teams making their way to the Hyder-Burks Agricultural Pavilion and being assigned paddock spaces along with registration. By the end of the day the Parking Lot Paddocks were bustling with team activity. Thirty-five teams visited the Briggs & Stratton garage for their overall general evaluation and a governor (RPM) setting check.

Friday continued with Briggs & Stratton and with technical inspections of all Baja vehicles by the National Honda Technical Inspectors. Baja SAE Tennessee Tech implemented the new design process that teams had used in Baja SAE Auburn 2012 where Polaris and the TTU Design Judges had teams divided into design bays where they were able to meet with the design judges that read their design reports and then judged their cars. The Polaris Design finalists were:
001 Cornell University
003 Rochester Institute of Technology
004 Northeastern University 
005 University of Louisville
006 University of Maryland – Baltimore County
009 Johns Hopkins University

Polaris had their Design Finals Friday night with feedback being given Saturday for teams. Overall winners were:
1st Place #005 University of Louisville
2nd Place #001 Cornell University
3rd Place #003 Rochester Institute of Technology

Saturday kicked off dynamic day with three impressive courses and a PTC Acceleration run all designed and manufactured by Tennessee Tech Alumni, Volunteers and Hyder-Burks Agricultural Employees. Teams competed in the Magna Maneuverability Course set up inside the show arena, and Suspension & Traction Course that contained a sand pit and log section that tested designs. They also competed in the Cummins Sled Pull testing the vehicles ability to pull an object a specified distance.
On Sunday teams prepared for the Endurance Race. The 2.6 mile course was laid out through the agricultural facilities grounds as well as entered the arena and back out again. The four hour endurance race had very close top finishers throughout as teams headed to the top they were knocked out by a black flag or rollover causing them to fall back and in some cases make it back up to the top again. In the end the top three Honda Endurance Winners were:

1st – 054 University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
2nd – 004 Northeastern University
3rd- 003 Ohio Northern University

Following the Honda Endurance Race teams headed back to the main tent to have an Awards Banquet sponsored where teams cleaned up and prepared to hear the results of their week. Overall Winners of the 2013 Baja SAE Tennessee Tech Competition are:

1st 001 Cornell University
2nd 044 Ohio Northern University
3rd 004 Northeastern University
4th 027 Ecole de Technologie Superieure
5th 073 LeTourneau University
6th 054 University of Michigan – Ann Arbor
7th 077 Cegep de Sherbrooke
8th 005 University of Louisville
9th 003 Rochester Institute of Technology
10th 010 University of Tennessee – Chattanooga

SAE would like to thank everyone that helped with the success of this competition including: Tennessee Technical University and their staff that worked the event, Hyder-Burks Agricultural Pavilion, Magna Powertrain, Briggs and Stratton, Cummins, Polaris, Honda, PTC and all the volunteers, alumni, and sponsors that came out to the site and worked tirelessly behind the scenes months before and especially the lead organizer Dr. Dale Wilson and organizing committee.

SAE Staff thanks you all for your dedication and commitment to making Baja SAE Tennessee Tech truly a successful event.