SAE International Honors Four with Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker Award

WARRENDALE, Pa., May 14, 2013 - Four automotive engineering professionals were honored with the SAE International Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker Award. The group received the award during the Awards Ceremony at the SAE 2013 World Congress.

The award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding presentation skills. The intent of the award is to maintain a high level of presentations at SAE International technical sessions by recognizing individuals who make outstanding presentations at those sessions. The recipient must have received the Oral Presentation Award more than twice to receive this award.

Those honored included:


Dr. Terrance F. Alger II, Assistant Director, Engine and Vehicle Research Division, Southwest Research Institute


Dr. Timothy J. Jacobs, associate professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University


Dr. Timothy V. Johnson, Director-Emerging Technologies, Corning Incorporated


Dr. Alexander Sappok, Postdoctoral Fellow, Sloan Automotive Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

SAE International is a global association of more than 138,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series.


- -