SAE International's Collegiate Design Series Wraps Up the 2013 Baja SAE Series in Rochester, N.Y.

WARRENDALE, Pa., June 12, 2013 - The Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) hosted the final regional competition in the Baja SAE® series on June 6-9.  90 teams turned out for the event in Rochester, N.Y., which featured several static and dynamic events.

The results were as follows:

Polaris Design 1st Place Winner - #56 University of Maryland – Baltimore County

1st Place Cost Winner - #88 Universidad La Salle (Mexico)

1st Place PTC Acceleration - #27 McGill University

1st Place Cummins Hill Climb – #27 McGill University

1st Place Magna Maneuverability - #79 Johns Hopkins University

1st Place Suspension & Traction - #43 University of Tennessee – Chattanooga

1st Place Honda Endurance Race - #91 University of Louisville

The Top 3 Briggs & Stratton Overall Winners

1st - #91 University of Louisville

2nd - #16 University of Michigan – Ann Arbor

3rd - #05 Ohio Northern University

      The Mike Schmidt Memorial Iron Team Awards:

1st - #16 University of Michigan – Ann Arbor

2nd – Ecole De Technologie Superieure

3rd – Ohio Northern University

To see a full list of winners, please visit:

SAE International is a global association of more than 138,000 engineers and related technical experts in the aerospace, automotive and commercial-vehicle industries. SAE International's core competencies are life-long learning and voluntary consensus standards development. SAE International's charitable arm is the SAE Foundation, which supports many programs, including A World In Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series™.

- -