SAE International
SAE Home
Contact Us | Help | Shopping Cart
| Sign Up!

Indiana Section

Section Home Events Officers Newsletters Education



Global Sections

Local Events Calendar

For Section Officers Only:

Homepage Administration

Officer Administration

Event Administration

Announcement Administration

Newsletter Administration

Section Officer Tool Box

Membership Rosters


Indiana Newsletter

2012 The Louis Schwitzer Award

For Innovative Engineering Excellence in the Field of Race Car Design

2012 recipient - Mark Kent and Matt Wiles from General Motors (GM) and Steve Miller and Steve O'Connor from Ilmor Engineering
News release and Award photo

The Louis Schwitzer Award for Engineering Innovation and Excellence began in 1967. It was created by the SAE Indiana Section to honor Louis Schwitzer, a long time SAE member, past Section Chair, strong civic leader in Indiana and advocate for education.

On August 19, 1909, in the inaugural weekend of racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the winner of the first event was Mr. Schwitzer. Trained as an automobile engineer, not a professional driver, he drove a Stoddard-Dayton powered by a four cylinder, 212 cubic inch engine with an average speed of 57.4 mile per hour on the dirt track.

In 1918, at the age of 38, he opened his own company, manufacturing automotive cooling fans. In 1999, BorgWarner purchased Schwitzer Inc., and joined with the SAE Indiana Section to sponsor this award in his name. It is presented each year to an individual or team that has demonstrated engineering innovation and excellence in racecar design and development.

History of the Louis Schwitzer Award

The Spirit of the BorgWarner Louis Schwitzer Award

Louis Schwitzer Biography

History of recipients through 2012