Fuel Regulations, Specifications, and Historical Perspective on Unleaded Phase-In


Marilyn J. Herman is President of Herman & Associates, a Washington-based consulting firm specializing in energy and environmental issues. Ms. Herman is a widely recognized expert in the field of Federal and State fuel regulations and legislation, renewable energy, and biofuels. The firm's clients include refiners and fuel marketers, trade associations, pipelines, and other parties in the transportation industry. Among its many consulting activities, Herman & Associates publishes a comprehensive legislative/regulatory website providing detailed information on Federal and State requirements governing transportation fuels. Ms. Herman is a member of ASTM International's D02 Committee on Petroleum Products and Lubricants, where she is Chair of the ASTM D02.A.1 Section on Oxygenated Fuels and Components, governing ASTM fuel specifications for E10, E85, E100, and mid-level ethanol blends. She was also appointed to serve as Chair of ASTM’s Task Force on Reformulated Gasoline. Ms. Herman is also a member of the Petroleum Subcommittee of the National Conference on Weights and Measures, where she has participated in drafting model laws and regulations governing gasoline, ethanol, biodiesel, renewable diesel, and other fuel products adopted by many states. Prior to founding Herman and Associates, Ms. Herman held various positions in the Congress and the Executive Branch. Ms. Herman served as the Deputy Director of a bi-partisan Congressional Commission on Alcohol Fuels, “The National Alcohol Fuels Commission”, responsible for developing government policies and legislation to promote the commercialization of ethanol fuel. She also served as legislative aide to Senator Abraham Ribicoff from Connecticut. Ms. Herman has held several positions within the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, including the Office of the Administrator, and the Mobile Source Enforcement Division dealing with fuels issues. She also served at the U.S. Department of Energy, where she was appointed to Chair an intergovernmental Task Force responsible for developing initiatives to advance the commercialization of alternative fuels.