2017 Annual Report


SAE International is governed by a Board of Directors led by the President, who also serves as the Chairman of the Board. The Board supports the Society’s vision of serving a global network of mobility engineers by providing industry standards and educational, networking, and career-development opportunities. The Board defines SAE’s strategic direction, provides leadership that links members to the operating organization, and ensures organizational performance on a macro level, and governs with an approach based upon vision, empowerment and total quality principles.

2017 SAE International Board Of Directors


Douglas Patton

2017 President
DENSO International America Inc.

Cuneyt L. Oge

2016 President
Partner of PWC’s PRTM Management Consulting (retired)

Mircea Gradu, Ph.D.

2018 President
Velodyne LiDAR Inc.

Robert L. Ireland

Vice President, Aerospace
Airlines for America

Carla Bailo

2016-2018 Vice President, Automotive
Center for Automotive Research

Landon Sproull

2017-2019 Vice President, Commercial Vehicle; 2020 Director

Pierre Alégre Jr.

2018-2019 Treasurer

David L. Schutt, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer
SAE International

Gregory L. Bradley, Esq.

Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Secretary
SAE International


Alain Jablonowski

2015-2017 Director

James Keller

2015-2017 Director

Todd Zarfos

2015-2018 Director
Boeing Commercial Airplanes

Dr. Haoran Hu

2016-2018 Director
Weichai Power Co., Ltd.

Eric M. Tech

2016-2018 Director

Dr. Gareth Malcolm Williams

2016-2018 Director
Airbus SAS

Donald R. Nilson

2017-2020 Director
Lockheed Martin Co.

Executive Management

David L. Schutt, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer
SAE International

Gregory L. Bradley, Esq.

Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Secretary
SAE International

Dana M. Pless, CPA, CAE

Chief Financial Officer
SAE International

Mark Chung

Chief Marketing Officer
SAE International

Frank Menchaca

Chief Product Officer
SAE International

Melinda Rombold

Chief Human Resources Officer
SAE International

Sections & Alliance Partners

Local Sections

Alabama: Alabama Section
Arizona: Arizona Section
California: Mid-California Section, San Diego Section, Southern California Section
Colorado: Colorado Section
Connecticut: Metropolitan Section, Southern New England Section
Washington D.C.: Washington Section
Florida: Florida Section
Georgia: Atlanta Section
Illinois: Central Illinois Section, Chicago Section, Rockford-Beloit Section
Indiana: Michiana Section, Fort Wayne Section, Indiana Section
Iowa: Mississippi Valley Section
Kansas: Kansas City Section, Wichita Section
Maryland: Baltimore Section, Cumberland Valley Section, Washington D.C. Section
Massachusetts: New England Section, Southern New England Section
Michigan: Detroit Section, Mid-Michigan Section, Western Michigan Section
Minnesota: Twin Cities Section
Missouri: Kansas City Section, St. Louis Section
New Jersey: Metropolitan Section
New York: Metropolitan Section, Syracuse Section, Western New York Section
North Carolina: Carolina Section
North Dakota: North Central Section
Ohio: Cleveland Section, Dayton Section
Oklahoma: Oklahoma Section
Oregon: Oregon Section
Pennsylvania: Lehigh Valley Section, Philadelphia Section, Pittsburgh Section
South Carolina: Carolina Section
Tennessee: Mid-South Section
Texas: Austin Section, South Texas Section, Texas Section, Texas Gulf Coast Section
Utah: Salt Lake Section
Virginia: Virginia Section, Washington D.C. Section
Washington: Northwest Section
Wisconsin: Milwaukee Section


Business Partners

Legal Counsel
Legal Counsel