Brake Colloquium & Exhibition - 36th Annual

October 14-17, 2018 │ Palm Desert, CA, USA │ JW Marriott Desert Springs

Awards Presentation

Allan M. Lang Award

Sponsored by TMD Friction
This award recognizes the “Best Presentation” given during the SAE Brake Colloquium & Exhibition . This is a memorial to Allan Michael Lang. Lang was killed in an avalanche while hiking in Scotland. He was Research Manager at Mintex Don, Ltd., a BBA Group Company. His Ph.D. was in mechanical engineering from Loughborough University in England, and his thesis was entitled “An Investigation into Heavy Vehicle Drum Brake Squeal."

2018 Recipient:

Sergio Metteo Savaresi

Professor of Automation Control
Politecnico di Milano

Best Paper Award

Sponsored by Compact International
This award is given to the best paper from the SAE 2017 Brake Colloquium.
2017-01-2502—"Brake System Performance at Higher Mileage" by David Antanaitis and Matthew Robere of General Motors

2018 Recipients:

David Antanaitis

Global Technical Integration Engineer, Brake Systems
General Motors

Matthew Robere

Global Lead Engineer, Brake Pads
General Motors

Best New Presenter Award

Sponsored by KB Autosys
This award will be given to the best new presenter.  To be considered, the recipient should have presented less than three presentations at the SAE Brake Colloquium.

2018 Recipient:

Michael Gromosiak

Chief Engineer–Mobile On-Highway

SAE Forest R. McFarland Award

This award recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Meetings Board in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs or outstanding contributions to the EMB operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information.

2018 Recipient:

Michael Schorn

Managing Director
LINK Europe

Dan Mahannah Award

This award is a memorial to Dan Mahannah. The Dan Mahannah Achievement Award is presented to a distinguished Member of our industry. It recognizes an individual who makes unselfish contributions toward the betterment of the industry and its members; through technological advancements or educational or promotional endeavors.
Nominations maybe submitted to Roy Link or Melissa Jena.