2018 Theme: "Disruptive Technologies" │ September 11-13, 2018 │ Rosemont, IL, USA │ Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Commercial Vehicle Awards

Forest R. McFarland Award – This award recognizes individuals for their sustained outstanding contributions toward the work of the SAE Engineering Events in the planning, development, and dissemination of technical information through technical meetings, conferences, and professional development programs at SAE events or outstanding contributions to event operations in facilitating or enhancing the interchanges of technical information. Established in 1979, this award is administered by SAE Engineering Events and honors the late Forest R. McFarland who was himself an outstanding session organizer, a chairman of the Passenger Car Activity and a member of the Engineering Meetings Board. Funding for this award is through a bequest by McFarland to SAE and consists of a framed certificate presented at an appropriate event.

L. Ray Buckendale Lecture – This lecture is developed with an accompanying manuscript that focuses on current-day areas of significance to the commercial vehicle industry. The paper is intended to act as a resource primarily for early-career engineers entering the commercial vehicle industry.

SAE/AEM Outstanding Young Engineer Award – Honors exceptional engineers with less than 10 years of industry experience in the off-highway or powerplant industry who have displayed exemplary innovation, leadership, teamwork, integrity, and community involvement alongside their contributions to SAE International.

SAE/Magnus Hendrickson Innovation Award – This award honors renowned inventor and businessman Magnus Hendrickson by recognizing an individual or a team whose efforts in commercial vehicle dynamics represent true innovation and have created significant, lasting impact on the commercial vehicle industry. As pioneers of the most rugged, reliable vehicles, the Oshkosh team has truly taken innovation to new heights and this year SAE International honors the Oshkosh Global Product Development Team.

2018 Forest R. McFarland Award recipient:

Lin Li, Ph.D.

Senior Analysis and Simulation Engineer
Liebherr Mining Equipment Newport News Co.

2018 L. Ray Buckendale Lecture Co-Authors:

Kirk T. Steudle, P.E.

Kirk T. Steudle, P.E., Director–Michigan Department of Transportation

Niles Annelin

Manager–Asset Management and Policy, Michigan Department of Transportation

2018 SAE/AEM Outstanding Young Engineer Award Recipient:

Stephen Lanahan

Design Engineer II, Volvo Construction Equipment