DoD Maintenance Symposium

December 9-12, 2019 │ Spokane, Washington, USA

Maintenance Innovation Challenge


Raise awareness and encourage wide adoption of available technologies, best business practices, and innovative maintenance processes, while engaging senior maintenance leaders in assessing and prioritizing promising technology to deliver innovative, agile, and affordable maintenance capabilities.



The six finalists from the DoD Maintenance Innovation Challenge (MIC) will present their technologies, best business practices, and innovative maintenance processes. Finalists were selected by an evaluation board of maintenance technology subject matter experts from the Joint Technology Exchange Group and industry. The session aims to raise awareness of promising innovations, encourage collaboration and unique partnerships that develop these capabilities, and reward those with the greatest potential. The overall winner was selected by DoD’s senior maintenance leaders from the Maintenance Executive Steering Committee, the Joint Group on Depot Maintenance, and the Industrial Base Commanders Peer-to-Peer Group. The winner will be announced during the Symposium plenary session and presented with the 2019 Maintenance Innovation Challenge trophy. Attendees of this breakout session will also have the opportunity to cast a ballot to select the “People’s Choice Award,” which will be presented along with the winner of the MIC during the plenary session.

Download MIC Brochure


Previous Great Ideas and Maintenance Innovation Challenge Winners Include:

  • 2018:  OC-ALC 76th CMXG REACT Metal AM Tooling and Testing Equipment – Martin Williams, US Air Force, Oklahoma City Air Logistics Complex, 76th Commodities Maintenance Group, REACT
  • 2017:  Drift Composite Heat Damage Evaluation of V-22 Wing – Justin Massey and Andrea Boxell, NAVAIR
  • 2016:  Automated Large Standoff, Large Area Thermography (LASLAT) Inspection System For Naval Aviation Structures – Clint Salter, NAVAIR ISSC Cherry Point, NC and Maria Frendberg Beemer, Thermal Wave Imaging, Inc.
  • 2015:  USCG Aviation Bonded Material Inspection System - Rusty G. Waldrop, US Coast Guard
  • 2014: Laser Technology for Aerospace Maintenance and Sustainment Applications - Deb Naguy, United States Air Force
  • 2012:  IFDIS – Expanding Role within the DoD Maintenance Enterprise - Ken Anderson, Universal Synaptics Corp.
  • 2011: Modernization of Metal Electroplating with No-Mask Conforming Anodes - George Cushnie, Advanced Tooling Corporation
  • 2010: Intermittent Fault Detection & Isolation System (IFDIS) Ken Anderson, Universal Synaptics Corp
  • 2009: Bolt Securing System - Ms. Julie Pereyra, NORD-LOCK Inc.
  • 2008:  3FAST (Fast, Field Fluid Assessment Support Tools) - Commander Dave Scalf, JOAP

Previous People’s Choice Winners Include:

  • 2018:  Using Multi-Pole Magnetic Technology to Improve Productivity, Quality and Safety – Jim Michael, Maglogix, LLC
  • 2017:  Small Unmanned Aerial System (sUAS) – Tim Morris and David Freeman, US Air Force, 412th Test Wing, 412th Maintenance Group
  • 2016:  Expeditionary Fluid Analysis Capability – MgySgt Lance Baughman, HQMC, I&L, LPC-1