This article also appears in
Subscribe now »

The Tata Prima 4038.S for the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship features 370 bhp at 2100 rpm and an increased top speed of 130 km/h over last year’s 110 km/h.

Truck racing demonstrates new technology, aero design

Season two of the T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship took place this spring at India’s F1 track, the Buddh International Circuit (BIC), with Stuart Oliver of Team Castrol Vecton winning for the second year in a row in the 16-lap final race, helping Team Castrol Vecton win the team title. Steve Thomas of Team Allied Partners, who qualified fastest on the first day, was the first runner-up, with Steven Powell of Team Tata Technologies Motorsports clinching the second runner-up spot.

Six teams—also including Team Cummins, Team Dealer Warriors, and Team Dealers Daredevils—each raced two Tata Prima Model 4038.S trucks built for purpose. Compared to Season 1, the Tata Prima race truck boasts 10% increased top speed—up to 130 km/h (81 mph)—10% increased acceleration, and 10% weight reduction, along with a new aerodynamic design. Key modifications made to the trucks to meet a mix of safety and performance guidelines per the British Truck Racing Association included significant changes to the fuel tank, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, seats and safety belts, exhaust, and steering wheel. The trucks went through multiple quality checks, with major testing being undertaken at the BIC and Tata Motors Jamshedpur’s testing facility, for high speed run and control.

Tata Motors also introduced a new strategic driver selection and training program in conjunction with the race, to induct and mold Indian truck drivers for future T1 races. Cummins, WABCO, JK Tyres, Castrol, and Tata Technologies were the main sponsors of the truck racing championship. Setco Automotive was one of the sponsors for Team Allied Partners. The T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship is organized by Madras Motor Sports Club and conducted under the aegis of FIA (Federation Internationale de l'Automobile) and the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India.

Continue reading »