SAE International Honors Authors with the Wright Brothers Medal

Christian Möller, Deputy Group Manager for Integrated Production Systems in the department Automation and Production Technology at Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Technology and Advanced Materials IFAM (Stade, Germany), the lead author on the SAE technical paper entitled, “Real Time Pose Control of an Industrial Robotic System for Machining of Large Scale Components in Aerospace Industry Using Laser Tracker System”, was presented with the Wright Brothers Medal at the recent SAE International Aerotech Americas 2019, held in Charleston, S.C.
Möller received the Wright Brothers Medal on behalf of his co-authors, who were amongst others, Philip Koch and Simon Kothe of Fraunhofer IFAM and Wolfgang Hintze of Institute Production Management and Technology, IPMT, Hamburg University of Technology, TUHH, who were unable to be in attendance at the awards presentation.
Established in 1927, this award annually recognizes the author(s) of the best paper(s) relating to the invention, development, design, construction, or operation of an aircraft and/or spacecraft presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections. This award honors Orville (an early SAE member) and Wilbur Wright, the first successful builders and operators of heavier-than-air flying equipment.
SAE International is a global association committed to advancing mobility knowledge and solutions for the benefit of humanity. By engaging nearly 200,000 engineers, technical experts and volunteers, we connect and educate mobility professionals to enable safe, clean, and accessible mobility solutions. We act on two priorities: encouraging a lifetime of learning for mobility engineering professionals and setting the standards for industry engineering. We strive for a better world through the work of our philanthropic SAE Foundation, including programs award-winning programs like A World in Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series™.

- -

Christian Möller (right) accepts the award from SAE President Paul Mascarenas. 
  Continue reading »