SAE International Announces Winners of the 2019 Forest R. McFarland Award

26 Individuals Honored for their Sustained Contributions in Support of SAE Engineering Event

Warrendale, Pa. (July 30, 2019) –SAE International today announced 26 mobility engineering professionals as winners of the 2019 Forest R. McFarland Award. Honorees are recognized for their outstanding, sustained contributions to support SAE Engineering Events through planning, operations, development and dissemination of information for technical meetings, conferences and professional development programs that enhance the exchange of technical information.
Established in 1979, the Forest R. McFarland Award is administered by SAE Engineering Events and honors the late Forest R. McFarland, who was an outstanding session organizer, chairman of the Passenger Car Activity and member of the Engineering Meetings Board. The award is funded through a bequest by Mr. McFarland to SAE International.
The 2019 Forest R. McFarland Award winners:
  • Carlos Agudelo – Link Engineering Company
  • Dr. Jim Barker – Innospec
  • Dr. Kirby Baumgard – John Deere Power Systems
  • Dr. Matt Castanier, U.S. Army CCDC Ground Vehicle Systems Center (GVSC)
  • Dr. Reuben M. Chandrasekharan – Bombardier Learjet
  • Ray Corbin – AVL Michigan Holding Corporation
  • Dr. Sara Dadras – Ford Motor Company
  • Dr. Soodeh Dadras – Utah State University
  • Paul Robert Davies – Boeing
  • Dr. Yichao Guo – FCA US LLC
  • Andrew Ickes – Chevron Energy Technology Company
  • Richard Sheng – COMAC
  • Dr. Michael D. Kass – Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Eric Krivitzky – Thermofluid Research Laboratory
  • Dr. Sotirios Mamalis – Stony Brook University
  • Ezio Mancaruso – Istituto Motori CNR
  • Dr. Rachel L. Muncrief – International Council on Clean Transportation
  • Jian Pan – Gissing Automotive Systems, LLC
  • Darrell Robinette – Michigan Technological University
  • Dr. Corina Sandu – Virginia Tech
  • Rini Sherony – Toyota Motor North America (TMNA)
  • Anand Srinivasan – Cummins
  • Jian Tao – FCA US LLC
  • Curtis Vincent – Honeywell (formerly of General Motors)
  • Prof Yunqing Zhang – Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Dr. Feng Zhu – Embry Riddle Aeronautical University
To view a list of all current and past Forest R. McFarland Award winners, please visit:
About SAE International
SAE International is a global association committed to advancing mobility knowledge and solutions for the benefit of humanity. By engaging nearly 200,000 engineers, technical experts and volunteers, we connect and educate mobility professionals to enable safe, clean, and accessible mobility solutions. We act on two priorities: encouraging a lifetime of learning for mobility engineering professionals and setting the standards for industry engineering. We strive for a better world through the work of our philanthropic SAE Foundation, including programs award-winning programs like A World in Motion® and the Collegiate Design Series™. More at

Continue reading »