A4A/SAE Nondestructive Testing (NDT) Innovation Award

Purpose: The A4A/SAE Nondestructive Testing (NDT) Innovation Award, formerly known as the Better Way Award, is an annual process established to recognize a government and/or industry team that has developed and applied a technology, technique, process, or policy that advances inspection or test of civil/commercial aircraft structure, aircraft components, or aircraft systems. Improvements will be assessed as a function of process sensitivity, reliability, and cost effectiveness.
Eligibility: Team eligibility includes both government and private industry personnel. Employees of universities, national labs, and non-profit organizations are also eligible as supplemental recipients of this award. Membership in A4A or SAE is not required. Teams may have two to twelve members. The accomplishment may involve research, development, engineering, application, management, or policy, and should have occurred not more than 18 months prior to the NDT Forum. Awards Committee members are not eligible for the award.
Awards Committee: An Awards Committee consisting of neutral subject matter experts representing A4A and SAE will review the nominations and select the winner.
Nominations: A4A and SAE are continuously soliciting nominations. Nominations may be submitted by anyone (including the awards committee members themselves). The nomination should include the names, affiliations, and contact information for all team members; the name and contact information of the nominator; and a brief (one page) description of the accomplishment.

Nomination Deadline: May 1

Access Nomination Form