Gordon Millar Award

The Millar award recognizes an individual or organization that best demonstrates continuous philanthropic support of the SAE Foundation's mission to encourage and increase student participation and achievement in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The award is funded by AVL.

Gordon Millar was an SAE Fellow and a member of SAE International since 1949. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1975 and, in 1984 served as SAE President, the same year that he concluded a noteworthy career at John Deere. He was a noted author and a consultant to the Southwest Research Institute, as well as a recognized expert in the history and restoration of classic marine engines. He was a lifetime advocate for improving STEM education and encouraging women to seek engineering careers.

Year Recipient
2018 FCA Foundation
2017  Ford Motor Company
2016  John Deere
2015 Kia Motors Manufacturing Georgia
2014 Toyota USA Foundation
2013 GM Foundation
2012 Dan and Vicky Hancock
2011 Arne and Stephanie Siegel