L. Ray Buckendale Lecture

Established in 1953, this award provides for an annual lecture that deals with automotive ground vehicles for either on- or off-road operation in either commercial or military service. The intent is to provide procedures and data useful in formulating solutions in commercial vehicle design, manufacture, operation, and maintenance.

L. Ray Buckendale, 1946 SAE President, by his character and work, endeared himself to all who were associated with him. Foremost among his many interests was the desire to develop the potential abilities in young people. To this end, the lecture is directed primarily to the needs of young engineers and students with emphasis on practical aspects of the topic.

Sponsorship of the lecture is rotated among companies within the commercial vehicle industry. Current sponsors include:

  • Cummins Inc.
  • Dana Holding Corp.
  • Eaton Corp.
  • Meritor Inc.
  • TRW Automotive

The award consists of a $1000 honorarium, a framed certificate, and a reception following the lecture, which is presented during the SAE Commercial Vehicle Engineering Congress & Exhibition. (Copies of the lecture are distributed to all those attending the lecture.)

Nomination Deadline: July 31

Access Nomination Form