Lloyd Reuss Award for Teaching Excellence - Participate - SAE International

Lloyd Reuss Award for Teaching Excellence

Established in 1998, this award recognizes elementary school teachers that further develop the understanding and experiences in math and science in elementary students.

To be eligible for this award, nominees (individuals or teams) must be elementary teachers (K-6) from public, parochial, or private schools, and must have demonstrated exemplary use of the AWIM program curriculum.

Applicants will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Quality of the teacher/volunteer partnership,
  • Quality of the teaching experience, and
  • Quality of the student experience.

This award honors the work and dedication of Lloyd Reuss, former President of General Motors Corp. and Chair of the SAE VISION 2000 Executive Committee. Reuss' support of the AWIM program was the building block of this award.

The award consists of a framed certificate and a $2,000 honorarium that will be divided equally between the teacher and the elementary school where the program was implemented.

Year  Name Employer
2016 Ginger Pate New Mountain Hill Elementary School
2015 Kathy Koperski Warner Upper Elementary School
2014 Stephanie Gendron Detroit County Day School
2012 Christina Del Pizzo St. Michael the Archangel School
2011 Michelle Layer Clarence Center Elementary School
2010 Becky Rose Western Peaks Elementary School

Nomination Deadline: Extended to
June 1st

Access Nomination Form