Myers Award for Outstanding Student Paper

Established in 1997, this award is given annually for the best technical paper presented by a student. The paper must be based on work done by the lead author(s) while a student. The time of the work determines student status. The presentation of the technical paper must be made by the student at a major SAE meeting. Papers can be on any topic and from students worldwide. Technical papers presented from June through May of the following year are eligible for the award annually.

The award recognizes the late Dr. Phil Myers and his wife Jean for their lifelong devotion to students and SAE. Myers was a renowned expert on internal combustion engines, and before his retirement, a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Together with his wife, they set a high standard for excellence, concern for students, and involvement with SAE.

The award consists of an attractive memento as well as a $4,000 honorarium to the lead student author. It is presented at the Awards Ceremony during WCX: World Congress Experience.

Nomination Deadline: October 1

Access Nomination Form