Ralph H. Isbrandt Automotive Safety Engineering Award

Established in 1972, this award annually recognizes the author(s) delivering the most outstanding paper at a Society or section meeting on the subject of automotive safety engineering. It may recognize an individual for distinguished accomplishment in automotive safety engineering, in which case the individual shall be invited to present a Ralph H. Isbrandt Memorial Lecture on an appropriate subject at a designated meeting of the Society.

During his 45-year automotive career, Isbrandt, SAE's 1967 President, provided a constant inspiration to young engineers seeking and following a mobility engineering career. The award is funded from an endowment comprising donations from American Motors Corp., Chrysler Corp., Ford Motor Co., General Motors Corp., the 2nd International Passive Restraint Systems Conference Banquet Committee, and Isbrandt's many friends.

The award consists of a framed certificate and bronze medal and is presented at the SAE Government/Industry Meeting.

This is a paper award - nominations are not submitted