Russell S. Springer Award

Established in 1954, this award recognizes the author of an original and outstanding technical paper that is published in SAE literature in the year for which the recipient is selected.  The technical paper shall demonstrate and be judged on originality, outstanding content and contribution to the industry.  To encourage younger member achievement, the recipient must be an SAE member who is 36 years of age or younger at the time of the presentation.

The award honors the late Russell S. Springer who funded this award through his bequest.

The award consists of a framed certificate and a $2000 honorarium. It is presented at an SAE Conference Event

Year Name Employer
2017 Youngki Kim University of Michigan
Paul Dekraker US Environmental Protection Agency
Mark Stuhldreher US Environmental Protection Agency
2016 Xinran Tao Clemson University
John R. Wagner Clemson University
2015 Luis Rabelo University of Central Florida
Tom Clark ERC Inc.
2014 Michael G Leffert General Motors
Narasimha Putcha General Motors
Jeffrey Santrock General Motors
Bryan Styles General Motors
Curtis Vincent General Motors
2013 Predrag Hrnjak Univ of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Huize Li University Of Illinois
2012 Kristofer D Kusano Virginia Tech
2011 Reese Allen Electroimpact Inc
2010 Benjamin Petersen Sandia National Laboratories
2009 Mikael Karlsson Swenox AB
2008 Kentaro Sugimura Honda
2007 Rishikesh Venugopal Purdue University
2006 Cherian Idicheria GM R&D Center
2005 Magnus Sjoberg Sandia National Laboratories
2004 Edward Nam EPA
2003 Lyle M Pickett Sandia National Laboratories
2002 Dr Kenneth Buckholtz PhD Boeing Co
2001 Carl Hergart GM R&D Center
2000 Soe Naing Cranfield Univ
1999 Dr Rob Lee Shell Global Solutions UK
1989 David M Held Cummins Inc
1988 James F Kunz Mega Corp
1987 David Arnett Univ of Texas-Austin
1986 Matthew Bartlett Behr America Inc
1985 Marvin D Beasley CalsonicKansei North America Inc
Kenneth Stoss John Deere Product Engineering Center