SAE International Award for Computational Fluid Dynamics Honoring Ramesh Agarwal


This Award recognizes professionals (individuals or teams) who have made significant science and engineering contributions to computational fluid dynamics (CFD).  

The award was made possible through a generous contribution from the Agarwal Family, in honor of Ramesh Agarwal, the William Palm Professor of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis. Professor Agarwal is a leader in sustainable aviation, computational fluid dynamics, and renewable & clean energy technologies, and is a Fellow and longtime member of SAE International.


  • Professionals (individual or team) who have made significant science and engineering contributions to the field of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) are honored through this award.  
  • Nominees may be from industry, academia, or government who have made contributions to CFD and its applications within the aerospace or ground vehicle industries.  
  • Nominees will be assessed based upon their development of CFD methods/technology, their significant contributions such as new methods, new or enhanced software, or simulation processes and their positive impact in the Industry or Engineering Community. 10-years of demonstrated professional contributions to CFD and its applications preferred but not required (this does not include graduate school studies)


Members of the Selection Committee are not eligible for this award while serving on the committee. Two years must pass before former members of the Selection Committee are eligible to receive the award.


This includes an honorarium and a certificate that is presented at an SAE event.

Past Recipients:

2022 Suhas V. Patankar Innovative Research, Inc.
2021 Phillip Roe University of Michigan
2020 Professor Sergei Godunov Sobolev Institute of Mathematics, Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences
2019 Joe Thompson Mississippi State University

Nominations August 12 - September 30